User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Quick Forum Search


Upcoming Rallies

Weekly Photo

 
Zoom Details 1
Inks Lake State Park in Texas
 Views: 3519
 Comments: 1
Posted by TX_F2
Feb 26, 2008
in This Week's Photo Winner

Checkout My Rig

 
My new to me 1993 Palomino TXL. Before pics and project updates.
The wife and I just purchased a new to us 1993 Palomino TXL. It's 95% solid with working appliances (purchased for a mere $750) but definitely needs some updating. In the coming months I plan on:
Refinishing and repainting the frame and tongue
Repainting the whole of the pups exterior
Updating all t…
 Views: 176
Posted by jberreth007
Jul 19, 2016
in Checkout My Rig

Recent Topics

pop up trailer needs by Halford
[Today at 03:08:06 PM]


TV Tuners (not that TV) by yetavon
[Today at 03:02:42 PM]


Lights at night! by kudzu
[Today at 03:00:04 PM]


Coleman Santa Fe in the house by bols2Dawall
[Today at 02:53:10 PM]


Big Basin Redwoods State Park CA. OR Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park CA. by maps
[Today at 02:52:31 PM]


How loud is too loud? by bols2Dawall
[Today at 02:48:40 PM]


Flickering Lights on 30A not on 15A by sparky642
[Today at 02:42:35 PM]


The Music Game by eoleson1
[Today at 02:33:29 PM]


Camper purchase by Snow
[Today at 02:24:22 PM]


Siding coming away from the side by Dusty Road
[Today at 02:13:07 PM]


2017 Arizona Spring Rally by Haybale
[Today at 02:10:26 PM]


2016 Camping Road Trip CA, NV, UT, WY, NE, SD, MN, IA, MO, IL OK, TX, NM, & AZ by Dusty Road
[Today at 01:56:42 PM]


Author Topic: Can I plug a 30amp trailer into a 15-20 amp 110 outlet?  (Read 4229 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KJcachers

  • Eagle Camper
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,361
  • Gender: Male
    • VA [VA]
    • US [USA]
    • View Profile
Can I plug a 30amp trailer into a 15-20 amp 110 outlet?
« on: June 07, 2011, 11:15:04 AM »
I am going to assume a dogbone adapter is available to allow this. What will run without blowing the house fuse? Not the AC I am sure but can I run the fridge,lights and water heater? Trying to find a way to be able to test out the new HTT with existing wiring in the garage until I can get a 30 amp circuit installed...
[PUT] 2011 Dodge Ram 1500 ST Crew Cab Hemi
2013 Keystone Bullet 246RBS
Nights Camped 2012 - 14

Offline Rustyk

  • Star Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 478
  • Gender: Male
    • PA [PA]
    • US [USA]
    • View Profile
Re: Can I plug a 30amp trailer into a 15-20 amp 110 outlet?
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2011, 11:30:32 AM »
Should be no problem
Rusty, Saint Paula & Nuts

Offline turtle

  • Star Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 569
    • OH [OH]
    • US [USA]
    • View Profile
Re: Can I plug a 30amp trailer into a 15-20 amp 110 outlet?
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2011, 11:33:14 AM »
You should be able to test the AC on a 20 amp outlet.

Offline jmcclung11

  • Eagle Camper
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,161
  • Gender: Male
    • VA [VA]
    • US [USA]
    • View Profile
Re: Can I plug a 30amp trailer into a 15-20 amp 110 outlet?
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2011, 11:34:00 AM »
I run my AC in the PUP using the adapter to the house (no 30 amp outlet for my house).  I just make sure that no other items are using that breaker and all works well.
In search of new pup...
1998 Dodge Durango

Offline joet

  • Eagle Camper
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,137
  • Gender: Male
    • WV [WV]
    • US [USA]
    • View Profile
Re: Can I plug a 30amp trailer into a 15-20 amp 110 outlet?
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2011, 11:36:37 AM »
   Sir, you are correct, everyting will run to include the A/C, but for how long?  The A/C should pull around 15 amps max.
I may grow older, but will never grow up....Jimmy Buffett

Offline Noni

  • Eagle Camper
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,376
  • Gender: Male
    • VA [VA]
    • US [USA]
    • View Profile
Re: Can I plug a 30amp trailer into a 15-20 amp 110 outlet?
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2011, 11:38:05 AM »
you can using one of these...  http://www.pplmotorhomes.com/parts/rv-power-cords/trailer-plug.htm  but you can not run the A/C if it's one of the Dometic 13500 BTU or larger nor the microwave (if equipped).
see ya' out there!  love without fear.
2013 Keystone Bullet 381BH
2013 F250 Lariat

Offline KJcachers

  • Eagle Camper
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,361
  • Gender: Male
    • VA [VA]
    • US [USA]
    • View Profile
Re: Can I plug a 30amp trailer into a 15-20 amp 110 outlet?
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2011, 11:41:21 AM »
thanks for all the replies. The AC unit is a small 5000BTU through wall unit on the Starcraft AR-ONE  and there is a small microwave also. I guess I will wait until I get it home and then buy an adapter to try it out.
[PUT] 2011 Dodge Ram 1500 ST Crew Cab Hemi
2013 Keystone Bullet 246RBS
Nights Camped 2012 - 14

Offline 2001coleman

  • Camper, 2nd Class
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Gender: Male
    • FL [FL]
    • US [USA]
    • View Profile
Re: Can I plug a 30amp trailer into a 15-20 amp 110 outlet?
« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2011, 11:42:38 AM »
It will work just fine my AC ran all night in the driveway.
Steve

Offline stu

  • Camper, 2nd Class
  • *
  • Posts: 73
  • Gender: Male
    • TX [TX]
    • US [USA]
    • View Profile
Re: Can I plug a 30amp trailer into a 15-20 amp 110 outlet?
« Reply #8 on: June 07, 2011, 12:05:48 PM »
you should be able to test everything out on a 20 amp circuit.  Just turn one thing on at a time to test then turn off and go to the next

Offline thegoodlife

  • Camper, 2nd Class
  • *
  • Posts: 66
  • Gender: Male
    • GA [GA]
    • US [USA]
    • View Profile
Re: Can I plug a 30amp trailer into a 15-20 amp 110 outlet?
« Reply #9 on: June 07, 2011, 10:15:49 PM »
I ran my AC with camper hooked up on a 20 amp breaker all day with triple digit temps and had no problems.
2005 Chevy Silverado
1998 Chevy Blazer
1996 Coleman Sun Valley

Offline KJcachers

  • Eagle Camper
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,361
  • Gender: Male
    • VA [VA]
    • US [USA]
    • View Profile
Re: Can I plug a 30amp trailer into a 15-20 amp 110 outlet?
« Reply #10 on: June 12, 2011, 01:38:48 PM »
The owners manual that came with the Darby through wall AC unit says it can run in any household outlet 10 amps or higher. I've been running it nonstop for a day now with no issues.
Sent from my Eris
[PUT] 2011 Dodge Ram 1500 ST Crew Cab Hemi
2013 Keystone Bullet 246RBS
Nights Camped 2012 - 14