1990 Jayco pop up camper air conditioner

Discussion in 'Heating / Cooling Systems' started by dborder, Apr 10, 2012.

  1. dborder

    dborder New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    where is the best place to find a roof top air conditioner for a pop up camper? we have a 1990 Jayco. is it hard to install? thanks for whatever information we can get.....
     
  2. Xolthrax

    Xolthrax Franconia, Pa.

    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Franconia, Pa. Butter capital of the East
    There are several source, so look around. Your 2 major brands are Coleman and Dometic (Penguin).

    Make sure that when you are pricing them, that they have both the a/c AND the inside control unit. Many places sell them separately.

    It's a shame you don't live in SE Pa. My local RV dealer has 15,500 BTU Coleman Machs with the interior unit and heat strip for $599. That's a good deal!.

    Also, don't forget to pick up a new gasket.

    They are not hard to install. When you remove the covers, you will find that it's just 4 bolts (albeit really long bolts) holding it in place. The gasket may be sticky, and you may have to the upper unit up and scrape away the gasket.

    They weigh about 100 lbs, though. Have a strong friend available to help.
     
  3. dborder

    dborder New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Thank you! The prices I am finding locally are around $500-$600. Guess that is the going rate...... Ready to go camping!
     
  4. candleems

    candleems Member

    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Location:
    South Central PA
    Do you already have an air conditioner? If not, your roof may not have the correct bracing for one.
     
  5. Xolthrax

    Xolthrax Franconia, Pa.

    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Franconia, Pa. Butter capital of the East
    Good point, Barbara.

    If you only have a vent, your roof opening may not be the right size, and your roof may need bracing. For some reason, I assumed that you were replacing an existing unit.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.