4-Way Vehicle to 7-Way Trailer Wiring question

Discussion in 'First Time & New Camper Owners' started by daellep, Jun 17, 2019.

1. daellep

daellep New Member

Hi all!

Pop-up and towing newbie here. I'm in Ontario, Canada and just bought a 2003 Bonair trailer that I'm trying to get on the road.

Problem is my towing vehicle (2013 Nissan Rogue) has a 4-way flat harness connected and the trailer has a 7-way AND what looks like a 4-way connection but actually has some sort of adapter that has 8 pins?? The configuration is 2 x 4 - it looks like the 4-way but with 4 more connectors beside them).

I used a tester on my TV and my 4-way flat works. The seller hooked up the 7-way on the trailer to his truck when we did a set-up and takedown last week and the lights worked fine.

But when I try to plug my 4-way vehicle end into the wonky 8-way adapter it doesn't work. I bought a 4-way to 7-way adapter but just haven't installed it yet because I have to ground it and need to buy some screws that are the right size, and now I'm thinking anyways that maybe it is meant to adapt the 7-way on the vehicle end to a 4-way on the trailer end, not the other way around?

I've read through some other posts about the 4-way to 7-way and I'm wondering if I'm missing something about this weird 8-way adapter, or if I should get my tv re-wired for the 7-way. I've taken the advice about getting wired for trailer brakes if you have them, and will definitely look into it in the future, I was just hoping to save myself the expense of getting it re-wired if I can for now.

Has anyone come across this 8-way wire? Site won't let me upload a pic but configuration is this:
    @ @ @ @
    x o o o <- 4-way flat from my vehicle plugs to this side, it just doesn't do anything

x = the metal wire plug of the 4-way flat
    o = the rubbery light wire posts of the 4-way flat
    @ = 4 extra rubbery posts??

2. nineoaks2004

nineoaks2004 Every meal is a picnic and every Day is a holiday