89 Starcraft Furnace

Discussion in 'Heating / Cooling Systems' started by jwolfe01, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. jwolfe01

    jwolfe01 Honeoye, NY

    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    Honeoye Falls, NY
    It got a little chilly this past weekend, so I fired up the furnace at night and it worked fine like it always has. When I went to sleep it was running, and I heard it shut off but I dont think it ever came back on again. I woke up early int the morning and it was freezing in the camper, the switch on the thermostat is on, I have plenty of gas (its a self lighting unit) and the power was on. I turned the thermostat all the way up, but it didnt even kick the fan on at all. Im going to work on it more tonight, but thought Id see if anyone had any ideas. My thought is an issue with the thermostat.

    _________________________________________
    TV - 98 Jeep Cherokee Classic <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_jeep.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Jeep">
    PUP - 89 Starcraft Nova <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp">
    Honeoye Falls NY
     
  2. Cygnus X1

    Cygnus X1 New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Have you checked the fuse? If the unit is not getting the proper amount of gas it will not light. Is it and Atwood, if it is try their website they have good tips try this link: http://www.atwoodmobile.com/Service/Trouble/dsi.cfm

    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_suv.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Tow Vehicle"> 06 Pathfinder
    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp"> 99 Starcraft SpaceStar
    DH Gary <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_beer.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Cold Beer">
    DW Robin
    #1 DS Jonathan
    #2 DS Zachary
    #3 DS Jeremy
    #4 DS Nicholas
    #5 Mac (English Springer)

    Edited by - viking2490 on July 14 2008 16:14:06
     
  3. jhower

    jhower New Member

    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Were you running off 12v or shore power? If you're on 12v and your battery starts to get low the furnace won't light.

    John & Cindy in Pennsylvania
    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle> <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_suv.gif border=0 align=middle> 2007 Flagstaff 620ST, '95 Dodge Dakota
    His <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_kayak.gif border=0 align=middle> & Hers <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_kayak.gif border=0 align=middle> Pelican kayaks

    http://community.webshots.com/user/jhower55
     
  4. jwolfe01

    jwolfe01 Honeoye, NY

    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    Honeoye Falls, NY
    It was running on shore power and its getting gas, the fan wont even kick on, which is what it does right before it lights. I havent had a chance to check anything yet, been moving, but I am going to try and get to it this weekend. Im not sure what brand it is, Ill have to look when I get it opened back up.

    _________________________________________
    TV - 98 Jeep Cherokee Classic <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_jeep.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Jeep">
    PUP - 89 Starcraft Nova <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp">
    Honeoye Falls NY
     
  5. jwolfe01

    jwolfe01 Honeoye, NY

    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    Honeoye Falls, NY
    Oh, and I did check the breaker on the front of the converter, but I didnt have a chance to look and see if there are any others (Im pretty sure there would be).

    _________________________________________
    TV - 98 Jeep Cherokee Classic <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_jeep.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Jeep">
    PUP - 89 Starcraft Nova <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp">
    Honeoye Falls NY
     
  6. rrands1

    rrands1 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Hi - I have a similar problem - did you manage to figure out what is wrong with yours?

    Thanks!

    -randy
     
  7. jwolfe01

    jwolfe01 Honeoye, NY

    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    Honeoye Falls, NY
    Not yet, still havent had a chance to work on it. I wish it would stop raining every darn day.

    _________________________________________
    TV - 98 Jeep Cherokee Classic <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_jeep.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Jeep">
    PUP - 89 Starcraft Nova <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp">
    Honeoye Falls NY
     
  8. KISMETT

    KISMETT New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    When you get to your furnace,and after you check that all connections are solid, disconnect the two blue furnace wires from the thermostat. Then connect these blue wires together, if the blower starts and fires, your problem is the t-stat. If the blower doesn't start, try disconnecting the wire harness from the furnace control board and rub a pencil eraser over the contacts on the board.
    They get dirty sometimes and this may help. Is this an Atwood or Suburban furnace?
     
  9. KISMETT

    KISMETT New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Have you had a chance to look at your furnace? What was the prob. & solution?
     
  10. jwolfe01

    jwolfe01 Honeoye, NY

    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    Honeoye Falls, NY
    Its been quite a while, and I finally got to working on the PUP today. The issue with the furnace was an easy fix (thank goodness). I went through all of the wiring diagrams, etc to look for fuses, but it didnt list any. I then opened up the furnace and removed a cover in the front and there was a diagram for the furnace its self, but it didnt list a fuse. I took the thermostat apart, everything was good there, so I went back to look at the furnace connections again with a flashlight and I noticed a white button popped up. It was located about 6 inches inside of the cabinet, so I didnt see it before. I pushed it down to reset and viola! the furnace kicked right on! I now have heat and am ready for some fall camping and hunting season!

    I love easy fixes!

    _________________________________________
    TV - 98 Jeep Cherokee Classic <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_jeep.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Jeep">
    PUP - 89 Starcraft Nova <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp">
    Honeoye Falls NY
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.