Advice for setting up on wooded land

Discussion in 'Boondocking' started by Toby Gardner, Oct 19, 2017.

1. Toby Gardner

Toby Gardner New Member

Oct 19, 2017
    Hi
    I am new to the world of pop up camping and to this forum. I recently purchased a 1988 Jayco 806 (8 ft by 7 ft footprint) in good condition to put on vacant land I purchased in upstate New York. The land has a slight slope and is lightly wooded (see pic). The previous owner of the pop up said I should build a platform to keep the camper off the ground. This is on a dirt road that is not passable from Dec through March due to snow so it would be left in the open Just curious about suggestions for properly setting up a camper in the woods and also suggestions for protecting it during the winter months on the mountain. Thanks.

20171013_152800 (1).jpg

2. NMroamer

NMroamer Active Member

Apr 21, 2016
    Albuquerque NM
    I hope that you do not plan on leaving it open during storage.
    Pop ups are not made for extended periods being open.

3. tenttrailer

tenttrailer Art & Joyce - Columbus, O

Jul 18, 2013
    Thornville, OH
    my big concern would be the snow load on the roof

Last edited: Oct 20, 2017
  4. xxxapache

xxxapache Well-Known Member

Jul 30, 2008
    Even closed up, a tree or branch will fall on it sooner or later. I suspect if the mice don't get it, the vandals will.

With that said, there is no need to build a wooden platform. Just put some boards or pavers under the tires.

5. jmkay1

jmkay1 2004 Fleetwood/Coleman Utah

Oct 10, 2013
    Northern Virginia