Anyone Pulling a PUP AND a Trailer w/Boat Together?

Discussion in 'Tow Vehicles, Hitch & Towing' started by ishoot4thriLLs, May 14, 2018.

1. ishoot4thriLLs

ishoot4thriLLs New Member

May 7, 2018
    Cecilia, KY
    It looks like it's legal in my state of KY as long as the total length is no more than 65'. I am considering pulling my 16' Lowe Big Jon aluminum boat w/trailer hitched to the back of my pop up camper. My tow vehicle and camper are in my signature below and I have NO trailer brakes. I would need to rig a 1 7/8" ball hitch onto the back of my PUP to make it happen plus wire in a plug for the boat trailer lights. I am an experienced driver with a trailer in tow and I understand that I won't be able to back up with two trailers attached to my tow vehicle.

Has anyone on here ever done this? If so, do you have any tips or recommendations for this type of setup? Thanks in advance.

2. Matt Benoit

Matt Benoit Active Member

Jul 30, 2017
    Warren, MI
    Never done this, however I can tell you that in order to add a hitch to your pup you will definitely have to weld too the main frame (not the C channel or the bumper). The bumper is not strong enough to tow from... Hell, it's usually not even strong enough to properly mount bicycles too... Also, how would the added tongue weight of the boat on the rear of the pup, effect the tongue weight of the pup? That could drastically effect handling of the TV. Even if all of that checks out, I would never try this without brakes on pup!

durhamcamper likes this.
  3. BikeNFish

BikeNFish Well-Known Member

Apr 24, 2017
    Maplewood, MN
    I would never double tow with a pup. Pup frames aren't built to tow anything.

4. Dan from Troup

Dan from Troup Well-Known Member

Apr 25, 2018
    Troup, Texas