Battery help for boondocking

Discussion in 'Boondocking' started by ltdave, Jan 18, 2019.

1. ltdave

ltdave New Member

Jan 18, 2019
    Hi Everyone,
    I'm new to the forum so I hope you'll bear with me. My wife and I have a 2001 Coleman/Fleetwood Sante Fe pop up. We do 97+ percent of our camping without electrical hookup. I would like to modify the popup and add a 12V cigarette recepticle to make it easier to use my BiPap machine. Should I try to splice into existing 12V wire or wire the cigarette recepticle back to the panel? I'm a complete novice when it comes to electrical/12V wiring. I think by upgrading my battery from a group 27 deep cycle to two 6V golf cart batteries that will help tremendously with added draw of BiPap. I need your help on all of it. Thanks in advance. We would like to take some longer trips this summer so I'll need to do my mods sooner rather than later.

2. SteveP

SteveP Well-Known Member

May 21, 2015
    I tried tapping into an existing wire but it my cpap didn't run consistently, probably due the smaller gauge wires. You can tap into an existing circuit but try to choose one that's not used that much. I tapped the circuit for the 12 volt feed to the fridge as close to the panel as I could and ran 12 gauge AWG to the plug in and back to the 12 volt ground buss and no more issues other than keeping the battery charged.

3. ltdave

ltdave New Member

Jan 18, 2019
    Thanks Steve. "back to the 12 volt ground buss" I'm really ignorant about wiring, can you elaborate

4. Mogimus

Mogimus Active Member

Apr 29, 2015
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    When adding a plug for our CPAP, I ran a new heavier gauge line to the inverter and on its own fuse. Didnt want to tap into a light gauge wire and potentially causing other issues. Going with dual GC2 batteries would be a choice but anything longer than a weekend trip and you might want to think about how to recharge the batteries (IE solar, genny, eyc)

5. PopUpSteve

PopUpSteve Administrator