Beginner here... Solar electric fencer hack?

Discussion in 'Camping Green' started by dwcole7, Apr 4, 2015.

1. dwcole7

dwcole7 New Member

Mar 8, 2015
    So, I am a HUGE beginner here. Looking for some options. We have purchased a 1976 Starcraft Starmaster 6. We will be remodeling and updating it. We have a solar electric fencer that we are not using and is pretty much brand new. I was wondering if there is a way to use that to charge a pop up 12 volt battery? Please don't laugh if this is totally ridicuous. ;) We are pretty new to all of this and I am looking for an inexpensive way to be green when camping. (if possible) If you have other beginner help for me I appreciate any options, ideas!!!!THANK YOU for any help!! Wendy

2. zorak

zorak Member

Apr 7, 2012
    If it has a decent enough size solar panel then it would help, but i doubt it would be enough to charge a large deep cycle battery as the amp draw of all the stuff in the pup will far exceed the capacity of the solar panel to replace the capacity used. Harbor freight tools has a 45 watt solar panel setup that has some promise and goes on sale a lot. I do believe others on the portal have came up with better deals than HF.

3. Byrd_Huntr

Byrd_Huntr Well-Known Member

Jan 27, 2013
    Minnesota
    I'm no expert, but camper batteries are 12v and most fencers are 6v. You could make it work by using two 6v batteries in your camper, but that is a lot of weight and hassle. Good thought though.

4. kudzu

kudzu Active Member

Oct 20, 2014