Bracing needed for Roof A/C

Discussion in 'Heating / Cooling Systems' started by wmshay6, Jul 20, 2018.

  1. wmshay6

    wmshay6 Member

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    I am wanting to add roof A/C to my Fleetwood Graphite. (10' box, 2 piece AL Roof). I have looked around quite a bit and can't find an answer . . . I have a roof brace installed already- mid-roof in front of where A/C would mount. It has holes for power cord.

    Do I need a second roof brace in my roof? The parts site lists two different braces available and the brace kit comes with two braces which leads me to believe that two braces are needed.

    I have dealer installed Yakima rails up front, so maybe original brace was added when rails were added to the roof? not sure. if I only need one brace, I'm all set. but not sure that's enough. Can anybody say for sure that owns a Fleetwood / Coleman?
     
  2. TRR

    TRR Active Member

    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    215
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Location:
    Alabama USA
    My Fleetwood Taos (8' box, aluminum roof) had a rooftop a/c on it when I bought it used but no brace. The roof was starting to sag a little. I added one brace in front of the a/c, pushing the roof back up as I installed it. It's been fine ever since.
     
  3. Sjm9911

    Sjm9911 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,315
    Likes Received:
    1,549
    Joined:
    May 31, 2018
    Location:
    Nj
    My Coleman Westlake only has one a.c. brace. It seams ok, it's a 2000
     
  4. BillyMc

    BillyMc Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    252
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Location:
    South Carolina
    My Starcraft has two.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.