Chevrolet traverse with a popup

Discussion in 'Tow Vehicles, Hitch & Towing' started by A Pablo, Jul 7, 2018.

1. A Pablo

A Pablo New Member

Jun 27, 2018
    Menifee, CA
    Hi all.... I'm new to this, so bare with me. I have a 2009 traverse LT and just recently started up a project of towing a new to me 2001 Skamper 23d popup trailer. I've been tent camping in the past and decided to test the waters with a popup trailer. I've also been able to pull a 5x8 trailer with my traverse with no problem, but haven't really tried anything with the popup aside from taking it home. Am I in over my head with the trailerr in regards to what my vehicle can tow? Its a 6 cyl so I figured it should handle the weight. Am I wrong? Also, it's only 2wd.

2. eoleson1

eoleson1 Well-Known Member

Jul 5, 2011
    Macomb County Michigan
    According to google the towing capacity of your Traverse is 2000 lb. The GVWR of your Skamper is about 2300 lbs so your going to be right at your capacity or a little above. How did it feel towing it home?

3. A Pablo

A Pablo New Member

Jun 27, 2018
    Menifee, CA
    It actually wasn't too bad. When I was taking a look at the skamper, I was under the impression it was the dry weight I had to watch out for. Any suggestions on what to do? I think at the very least I would need to add a brake controller for the trailer.

4. Rusty2192

Rusty2192 Active Member

Jul 30, 2014
    Kentucky
    Does your Traverse have the factory tow package? If not, you’ll definitely need to add an auxiliary transmission cooler. With a dry weight of 2,300 lbs, you probably will need a brake controller. Does the pup have electric brakes on it?

5. A Pablo

A Pablo New Member

Jun 27, 2018
    Menifee, CA