De-Winterizing How To?

Discussion in 'Camper Storage / Winterizing & De-Winterizing' started by jblasutti, Apr 20, 2015.

1. jblasutti

jblasutti I'd Rather Be Camping

Aug 26, 2014
    This is my first spring with a PUP, bought our NTU Jayco last fall and was able to get out and use it for one long-weekend before having to put it away for a long Canadian winter. Before parking it for the season I brought it to the dealer that we got it from and had them winterize it (which, AFAIK, only included anti-freeze) mostly because I was new to PUPs and wouldn't have known where to start.

Since then, I've spent the winter researching and figuring out that there are a lot of things and can be doing myself. One topic that I haven't seen a whole lot of time spent on is De-Winterizing.

What does it take to de-winterize a winterized PUP? Do I just fill the water tanks and flush the system a few times?

2. scott10ss

scott10ss Member

Apr 4, 2015
    I'm no expert, but I just dewinterize mine. Took about an hour. I drained all the antifreeze. Filled up my tank and ran all the faucets, then repeat. You can put a cup of bleach in your tank, fill it up, then flush to help sanitize.

3. Heady

Heady Active Member

Sep 24, 2012
    Pretty simple. Drain the antifreeze out of your fresh water tank, then start filling the tank. Drop a capful of bleach in if you like. turn on the line going to your fresh water tank and turn off the antifreeze draw tube (if equipped). Run all of your sinks, showers, toilet, shower, outside shower, low point drains, untill the water is clear. Then open the valves to you hot water tank and close the bypass (if equipped) and run some water to flush out your hot water tank. That's it. Pretty easy. The hardest part is usually finding the valves.

4. jblasutti

jblasutti I'd Rather Be Camping

Aug 26, 2014