GVWR vs actual, do I need a new axle!?

Discussion in 'Tires / Brakes / Bearings / Axles' started by MNfamilycamper, May 2, 2018.

1. MNfamilycamper

MNfamilycamper New Member

May 2, 2018
    Minnesota
    2003 Starcraft 2110L being towed with a 2002 Trailblazer (6000lb tow cap.)

The tag on the camper says 3000 GVWR and it also says the camper weighs 2960. So does that mean Im 40lbs away from the max cap.?

Attached Files:

2. Mamie

Mamie Active Member

Sep 11, 2017
    LA - Lower Alabama
    ??? I'd like to know too

3. Orchid

Orchid Sharp Shootin' Grandma

:shocked: That would be a scary thing to read, for sure!

I am no expert on this, so I'm only going to guess, but I doubt that is the dry weight of the camper. It probably means max you should load it up to. If it's the one in your profile pic, I seriously doubt it weighs that much. Ours only weighs 2100 lbs and it has a full bathroom it in.

MNfamilycamper likes this.
  4. jmkay1

jmkay1 2004 Fleetwood/Coleman Utah

Oct 10, 2013
    Northern Virginia
    That is the way I read it myself, but I've never seen one so close before. I have seen campers with allowable carry capacity of 150 pounds before but not any less than that. You may want to take the camper to get it weighed to verify what your actual numbers are.

MNfamilycamper and jnc like this.
  5. Raycfe

Raycfe Waterford Ct.

Oct 3, 2007
    Waterford, Ct
    This is how I look at it. Camper weighs 2960 lbs .....but 300 lbs will be on the tongue/ball hitch. Also with 13 inch tires you should have a 3500 lb axle already. So 2660 divided by 2 equal 1330 per tire. A ST175/80D13 load range C has a capacity of 1360 each at 50 psi. The tires are the weak link. A ST185/80D13 load range D tire has a capacity of 1710 lbs at 65 psi. A simple tire upgrade could increase your capacity.

6. Orchid

I completely agree with taking it to scales. But, do you really think they would have a capacity so low on a model with a storage trunk? That seems insane to me.