Homemade bike rack for camper...(pics)

Discussion in 'My Favorite Mods, Tips, Tricks (and Blunders!)' started by JJMAC1, Apr 2, 2011.

1. JJMAC1

JJMAC1 New Member

May 29, 2010
    Was going to purchase a full yakima set and the cost was just too much. So I decided to make a homemade rack using superstruts and cone nuts.

I am just waiting for the silicone to dry and then it will be painted black and I will at other accessories. Fits 4 bikes. Final pics to follow..
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Big_kid

Big_kid Virginia Beach, VA

Jan 13, 2008
    I think I need to watch this thread- you've piqued my interest!

3. regis101

regis101 New Member

Feb 21, 2011
    I'm an electrician by trade. Unistrut is used quite often. Good stuff.

4. Hawkester

Hawkester Hawkesnest

May 23, 2008
    SE Wisconsin
  5. jshulenberger

jshulenberger New Member

Sep 29, 2010
    Hawkester: Is that Aluminum Unistrut? Where did you get it? I have been looking for something just like this for the same type of application.

6. RFryer

RFryer Hopkinton, MA

Mar 10, 2009
    Hopkinton, MA
    JJMac1,

What did you use to attach the superstruts, just silicone?

7. Hawkester

Hawkester Hawkesnest

May 23, 2008
    SE Wisconsin
    Yes. I used aluminum becasue it is far lighter than the steel and it is more than strong enough. I work as a building engineer so scrap stuff is always available. You can also get it thru McMaster Carr http://www.mcmaster.com/#strut-channel-systems/=bqtq8j

8. JJMAC1

JJMAC1 New Member

May 29, 2010
    The 3 ft spans of superstrut on top are connected to a 6 foot span of superstrut on the inside of roof via 1 1/2 inch bolts and nuts. I used rubber flashing (used around window when installing them) under the superstruts on top. Then silicone. I am going to top it off and paint the whole top with grizzly grip.....