I need suggestions on how/where I should mount my spare tire!

Discussion in 'General Camping Discussion Forum' started by Rachel LeCureux, Aug 12, 2017 at 8:41 AM.

1. Rachel LeCureux

Rachel LeCureux New Member

Aug 1, 2017
    Hi all!
    I'm fairly new to this, only had my PUP about a month, and only camped twice so far. I've been keeping busy fixing little things on my new-to-me 2004 Rockwood 1640 LTD. The previous owner did a few things in a manner that I wouldn't have...I like to do things right the first time, every time. They wanted to add air conditioning, but instead of bracing the roof and adding a rooftop AC like I would have, they chopped a hole under one of the slides (right where you step up to get into bed) and stuck a window AC unit there. It's wired properly, at least, so it comes on automatically and I don't have to fool with it. It does, however, pose a problem since I now have nowhere to mount my spare tire, and it's yet another thing taking up valuable real estate in my camper, yet another thing I have to take out and put back in during setup and tear down. I'd like to mount it back on that bumper where it belongs, or somewhere else, but all the products I'm seeing are for 4" square bumpers. Does anyone have any ideas as to where I might be able to have this thing mounted?

I've included the only photo I have handy to show why my spare tire can't be mounted where it's supposed to be...because there's a window AC unit sticking out there. I thought I was pretty self explanatory but sometimes people need to see what you're talking about to understand.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Aug 13, 2017 at 1:35 AM
  2. tzmartin

tzmartin Active Member

Sep 9, 2015
    Here's a crazy idea. Cover the spare with a nice white vinyl cover and put it on the roof toward the front. It's lighter than an AC unit and you only need to put one or two long bolts through the roof. Make sure you seal the bolts and you're good.

3. xvz12

xvz12 Active Member

Apr 6, 2017