Is my worry about dangerous animals unwarranted?

Discussion in 'Boondocking' started by jcrew6311, Sep 21, 2017.

1. jcrew6311

jcrew6311 Member

Feb 24, 2015
    I've always been under the paranoia that you have to keep an ultra clean camp site in order to keep animals away. I get the concept, but after being with a family who camps in the forest where bears live in az for 4 weeks straight, I noticed they weren't concerned about it at all. They left plenty of food out, cooked/uncooked, a trash can next to their trailer, and said for 25+ years they've been going there and have never once seen a bear. Now maybe they're less fearful because they're hunters w equipment vs me who is not a hunter nor do I have any weapon, but I was wondering if it's really all that warranted to worry about this issue? We only camp for about 2 days right now.

2. gladecreekwy

gladecreekwy Member

Sep 25, 2016
    I've been camping in NW Wyoming for 25 years. We have more bears in this area than anywhere in the lower 48. We have never had an issue with bears in our camp. However, we are very careful about food and trash. Leaving this stuff out, especially at night is asking for trouble. Why take a chance? Also when a bear gets into human food it's as good as dead. Just because nothing has ever happened to those folks it only takes one time to really image.jpeg ruin your day

3. bearman512

bearman512 Well-Known Member

Apr 17, 2010
    Albuquerque NM
    IMHO stop worrying!
    I have been boondocking in NM,AZ, and CO for over 30 years. I have only had 1 bear come through camp and she was just curios. This was a remote camp on west mountain near Capitan NM Lincoln National Forest "Home of Smoky the Bear"
    Honestly I have had more problems with Raccoons and Foxes than Bears.
    We also have a very large population of Wolves in the Gila NF which borders AZ and have encountered them traveling within 100 yards of camp.