No Battery Mod (110V only)

Discussion in 'Power - Site Power/Batteries/Generators/Solar' started by jjmac, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. jjmac

    jjmac Member

    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    I was wondering if anyone had taken the converter and battery out of the equation and rigged up their camper to run only on 110V?

    I don't see myself camping anywhere where I won't have electrical and water hook ups.

    It seems like it would be easier to take the converter and battery out and just wire everything to 110V. I have even found a few in-line converters that accept 110V and convert to clean 12V so that I could still wire up LED lights, the top lights and stereo or whatever I want to be 12V without having to go through a battery.

    I am not worried about resale value as I only paid $400 for the camper. I feel doing this would eliminate unnecessary points of failure and the need to maintain a battery properly.

    Any thoughts?

    -------------------
    josh
    99 chevy 1500
    97 rockwell premier
     
  2. mostlyok

    mostlyok We're Mostly OK!

    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida
    What about the 12 V lights in the roof? Water pumps? etc. I would leave the convertor. Less mods, and all still works off 120V. When on 120V you are right in assuming that the battery is not needed.
    PS. Don't forget that removing the battery often decreases tongue weight. That may be a handling problem.

    Heidi & Paul '04 Fleetwood Niagara
    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_jeep.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Jeep"> '05 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
    If its got zippers and Velcro it's got to be fun!
     
  3. Noni

    Noni See ya' out there !

    Messages:
    1,371
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Location:
    Herndon, VA
    also if you have carbon monixide or other other detectors in your PUP they run off 12V. I agree with mostlyok, keep the converter there is more to 110V wiring and step down transformers than keepong the converter for 12V devices.

    '08 Starcraft Centennial 3606
    '00 Montero Sport LTD, aka; "D NONI"
    see ya' out-there !
     
  4. jjmac

    jjmac Member

    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Mostlyok, that's what the inline converter i pointed out would be for.

    Currently none of the 12V stuff works without a battery installed. (obviously). I'm looking to get out of maintaining a converter and battery that I don't use.

    Plus the inline converters can spit out clean 12V power, giving me a cheap alternative to an expensive converter if I want to power audio equipment.

    -------------------
    josh
    99 chevy 1500
    97 rockwell premier
     
  5. tnchuck100

    tnchuck100 New Member

    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    How much current can this "inline converter" handle?

    <font color=blue>Chuck & Mary - Sparta, Tennessee
    '00 Dodge Dakota <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_suv.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Tow Vehicle"> '05 Palomino Pony 280 <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp">
    '03 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_bike.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Bicycle"> '04 Timeout <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp"></font id=blue>
     
  6. jjmac

    jjmac Member

    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    I'm not exactly sure on the current as the ones I've seen have only listed the input voltage and output voltage. I didn't think the current mattered since the current is like the size of the "pipe", and the voltage is the strength of the flow through that "pipe". However I could be dead wrong, I am not an electrician. I would need to find out before I did anything.

    Right now basically 110 volts at 30 amps comes in. Some of that goes directly to my 110 plugs and a/c, the rest goes to the converter. The converter goes to the battery to basically charge the battery. Then the lights, pump, etc is wired to the battery.

    Maybe a better solution for me would be to keep my converter, but remove the battery and just wire everything that is 12V directly to the converter?

    Only downside with this really is that my converter does not control the quality of the 12V it sends out so if I decided to install more sensitive 12V equipment (audio for example) I would need to replace it.

    -------------------
    josh
    99 chevy 1500
    97 rockwell premier
     
  7. tnchuck100

    tnchuck100 New Member

    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    I'm not going to say yours is not so but I've have not seen the 12V systems connected directly to the battery. Commonplace is all circuits go to the converter. The battery is just one more circuit to the converter.

    Due to the age of your PUP it most likely is not designed to charge the battery. And probably does not a filtered output (ie: dirty power).

    If the converter works you may want to leave it as is and use your inline converter only for the audio equipment. Again, you need to know the current (amps) that the audio equipment needs and how much the inline converter can supply.

    The recommendation would be to replace the converter with a modern one that can supply 12VDC at 25 to 30 amps. (This 30 amps is not related to the 30 amp AC supply.) The newer converters have a filtered output and can charge the battery.

    <font color=blue>Chuck & Mary - Sparta, Tennessee
    '00 Dodge Dakota <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_suv.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Tow Vehicle"> '05 Palomino Pony 280 <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp">
    '03 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_bike.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Bicycle"> '04 Timeout <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp"></font id=blue>

    Edited by - tnchuck100 on August 14 2008 15:38:57
     
  8. jjmac

    jjmac Member

    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Here is a good chart as to how mine is set up. Maybe I wasn't explaining it correctly, but this guy does a good job!

    http://bart.ccis.com/home/mnemeth/12volt/12volt.htm

    The biggest thing I want to accomplish is to get rid of the battery and still have everything work when I plug into shore power. I thought while I was at it I could get rid of the converter too by using the inline converters (can we say storage space?) but maybe that's not the best option.

    Right now if I plug into shore power none of the 12v stuff works because I don't have a battery installed. All of that is connected directly to the battery.

    -------------------
    josh
    99 chevy 1500
    97 rockwell premier
     
  9. tnchuck100

    tnchuck100 New Member

    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    The chart you are referencing is a FUNCTIONAL representation of the electrical system. Not a PHYSICAL layout of where things are actually connected.

    Simply disconnecting the battery cables should not stop your lights from working. The converter should continue to supply power to everything when connected to shore power.

    How many wires are connected to each of the two battery terminals on your set up?

    <font color=blue>Chuck & Mary - Sparta, Tennessee
    '00 Dodge Dakota <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_suv.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Tow Vehicle"> '05 Palomino Pony 280 <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp">
    '03 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_bike.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Bicycle"> '04 Timeout <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp"></font id=blue>

    Edited by - tnchuck100 on August 14 2008 15:50:43
     
  10. jjmac

    jjmac Member

    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    I will check it out when I get home and see what is going on. I've been looking for a 30amp to 15amp adapter but I haven't found one locally so I can't plug it up right now to test it. I need to go ahead and order one from somewhere I suppose.

    My "understanding" of the above chart prompted me to call my local dealer. They confirmed to me that the lights would not work if the battery was not hooked up.

    However my experience with local dealers is they will say whatever gets you off the phone fastest so they could very well be wrong.

    So this whole post was based on the theory of what might happen. At this point I guess I need to get the plug adapter in and actually plug it in to actually find out. If it works as-is with no battery installed, then I will not mess with it at all.

    Thanks for that info :)

    -------------------
    josh
    99 chevy 1500
    97 rockwell premier
     
  11. tnchuck100

    tnchuck100 New Member

    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    You can get the adapter at Wal-Mart.

    I'm going to be blunt here....the dealer is lying to you. Mark him off your list for any further business.

    <font color=blue>Chuck & Mary - Sparta, Tennessee
    '00 Dodge Dakota <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_suv.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Tow Vehicle"> '05 Palomino Pony 280 <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp">
    '03 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_bike.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Bicycle"> '04 Timeout <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp"></font id=blue>
     
  12. jjmac

    jjmac Member

    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Roger that, thanks!

    Where at walmart? I have looked at home depot, lowes, harbor freight, and walmart no less than 2 times each the past week and have not been able to find it.

    I have found plenty of the twist 30amp adapters, are those the same thing? I thought I read somewhere they weren't. I have been looking in the extension cord sections at each of those stores. I have even asked at least 1 employee in each store, but only the guy at harbor freight even knew what I was talking about and he said they didn't have any.

    -------------------
    josh
    99 chevy 1500
    97 rockwell premier
     
  13. tnchuck100

    tnchuck100 New Member

    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Most Wal-Marts have an RV accessories section near the automotive or camping stuff. They have white drinking water hoses, 30 amp extension cables, sewer lines, levels, water pressure regulators, and electrical adapters for RV's. Many other RV goodies.

    <font color=blue>Chuck & Mary - Sparta, Tennessee
    '00 Dodge Dakota <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_suv.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Tow Vehicle"> '05 Palomino Pony 280 <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp">
    '03 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_bike.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Bicycle"> '04 Timeout <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp"></font id=blue>
     
  14. jjmac

    jjmac Member

    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Oh wow so I've probably been looking in the wrong place. Thanks you've been very helpful!

    -------------------
    josh
    99 chevy 1500
    97 rockwell premier
     
  15. The Canning Clan

    The Canning Clan New Member

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    my 07 Rockwood 12v system works fine with no battery installed as long as 110v is plugged in. When I got it the first thing was to put the battery on a proper charger, it all worked flawless
     
  16. KISMETT

    KISMETT New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Josh,
    I'm not familiar with the manufacturer of your trailer. Is the GVW over 2 or 3000lbs? Does it have brakes or a break away cable? The break away switch is powered by the tongue battery. Some state laws require this setup.

    Paul
     
  17. jjmac

    jjmac Member

    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    It's 2400 dry, no brakes, no break away. Good information though, you never know.

    -------------------
    josh
    99 chevy 1500
    97 rockwell premier
     
  18. lustenberg

    lustenberg New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    Greendale, Indiana
    We are relatively newbies from Indiana with a pu. We have always camped at CG's with electric service. We just installed a deep cycle battery to our 85 starcraft for the upcoming holiday weekend. No electric sites available. The battery only seems to operate the lights. Can we use fans, electric skillet, cell phone chargers? So far we are having no luck with anything working but lights? Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks

    Kim

    Edited by - lustenberg on August 23 2008 19:03:26
     
  19. tnchuck100

    tnchuck100 New Member

    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Kim,
    The battery will not run anything that requires 110V. That would require an inverter to convert 12VDC to 110VAC. And even then you would not want to run an electric skillet. Assuming you had an inverter that would handle it it would kill your battery in about 15-30 minutes.

    The only things that operate from the battery are the lights, water pump, ceiling fan, furnace. If you have those items.

    <font color=blue>Chuck & Mary - Sparta, Tennessee
    '00 Dodge Dakota <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_suv.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Tow Vehicle"> '05 Palomino Pony 280 <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp">
    '03 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_bike.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Bicycle"> '04 Timeout <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp"></font id=blue>

    Edited by - tnchuck100 on August 23 2008 19:28:45
     
  20. Xolthrax

    Xolthrax Franconia, Pa.

    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Franconia, Pa. Butter capital of the East
    <BLOCKQUOTE id=quote><font size=1 face="Verdana,Arial,Helvetica" id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote>Currently none of the 12V stuff works without a battery installed. (obviously)<hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote></font id=quote><font face="Verdana,Arial,Helvetica" size=2 id=quote>

    If that's true, then something is drastically wrong. I think Chuck may have cleared that up for you. I agree with him. Swap out the old converter for a new one with filtered output. I use a Parallax 6730. There's no need to hook up a battery if you don't want to. It will power your lights, furnace, water pump, stereo, etc. just fine. It even comes with the circuit breakers preinstalled.

    Why reinvent the wheel?


    Joe

    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp">'96 Rockwood Signature Series 1280
    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_suv.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Tow Vehicle">'07 Ford Explorer
    <i>Wherever you go, there you are.</i>
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.