Not sure how to search this...

Discussion in 'Camper Pre-Purchase Questions' started by msollars, Sep 12, 2017.

1. msollars

msollars New Member

Sep 11, 2017
    I'm in search of our first pop up. One requirement I have is that it fit in our garage when not in use. Our garage has 17'10" available length and width shouldn't be an issue.

Is there a way to search or sort....on any site....by the closed lengths of a pop ups? Does closed length mean the same as travel length? does this include the hitch? etc. etc.

can you tell i'm new to all of this?

Thank you for any input. And please, if you have a newer, nice pop up that's less than 17'10'' long when closed that you are looking to give away...i'm your man!

Matt

2. sleach

sleach A short run will get you within walking distance.

May 17, 2014
    Not about to give away our 2012 Chalet Arrowhead, but I understand your problem. Too many manufacturers websites give info on the size of the closed up box, failing to mention the overall length. Additionally, OAL can vary depending on what year a given model was built, whether the manufacturer built or outsourced the underlying frame and running gear, etc. Accessory or optional items can add length, items such as rear spare tire mount, or front storage bunker.

Get yourself a 25 foot steel tape measure, and take it along when you go look at any unit, new or used.

3. msollars

msollars New Member

Sep 11, 2017
    I was afraid that may be the answer. Simple, effective, unsearchable from the comfort of my home from 9pm or later when I get time to breath and do things like search for campers online. :)

thank you for the reply!
    Matt

4. BikeNFish

BikeNFish Active Member

Apr 24, 2017
    Maplewood, MN
    Generally, a PUP with a 10 foot box without a cargo box should have a closed length of around 15 1/2 feet from back of trailer to from of tongue. With a cargo box, add 2 feet.

And like sleach said, bring a tape measure with you to eliminate any guessing.