Pls tell me a good sleeping bag with zippers that don't break!

Discussion in 'Cushion, Curtains, Carpets, Bedding, Clothing Stor' started by campagain, Aug 27, 2017.

1. campagain

campagain Active Member

Jun 24, 2017
    I need to buy sleeping bags for me and the kids. My number one pet peeve is broken zippers. Even the new Coleman North Rim bags have feedback of cheap zippers. I am not throwing money at a bag that won't stay closed!!

2. f5moab

f5moab Retired from the Federal Government

May 7, 2013
    Somewhere in Idaho
    I have a Kelty Calliston 15 degree synthetic and although the zipper gets hung up on the material once in a while, the zipper still works and the material is not cut. Just have to move it back and forth till unsnagged.

Only drawback I will say is it does not fold down small, and when I use it in a tent it is hard to pack up. However, in the trailer there is no problem, plenty of room to store it in the trailer vs. a duffle bag.

Price was around $95 when I purchased it in 2012.

3. Fixitup

Fixitup Active Member

Jun 7, 2016
    Well as soon as I saw the title I was going to suggest Coleman. I still have the Coleman that my dad gave me when I was 12. Im 51 now. Both my boys have slept in it. And guess where I keep it. In our pup of coarse!

4. neighbormike

neighbormike Active Member

Oct 6, 2012
    WI
    I have had good luck with Cabela's, however, they aren't cheap.

5. theseus

theseus Centerville, OH

Feb 6, 2007
    Centerville, OH
    My kids have cheap Walmart brand bags. To keep the zippersclosed I use a diaper pin behind the zipper. My wife and I have two coleman bags that we zip together. I don't have a lot of problems with it unzipping.

6. MNTCamper

MNTCamper Active Member

Jun 14, 2014