Pop up warning

Discussion in 'Campsite Security & Safety' started by Lost in the Black Hills, Aug 2, 2018.

1. Lost in the Black Hills

Lost in the Black Hills New Member

Aug 1, 2018
    Ok. So I just got a pop up that had a fire. A relatively small one all things considered. I was told it started because the owner didn't turn power off to the WH or furnace or fridge and left the propane on. They think the pilot light blew out when it was driving then must've auto lit since those appliances were on.

Can this happen? Is this a realistic scenario? What are the dangers of not turning everything off when breaking down camp? I'm new to this and don't want to have history repeat itself.

Thanks!

825D4716-676B-4B11-AA77-0E46495BCA8C.jpeg B789D0F9-2373-4C5D-A21F-7B272F90819E.jpeg B080085E-131A-44BB-A708-F35F73A334E4.jpeg AC5F4A38-1215-4B2F-86AF-8B307BB9452D.jpeg

2. Sjm9911

Sjm9911 Well-Known Member

May 31, 2018
    Nj
    The cause is whatever is at the lowest part in that corner cabinite.in the first photo. Whether it was propane related or not, I can't tell from these pic. Did this happen when they were pulling it? I thought most campers had a cut off switch to prevent stuff like that. More information is needed and pics.

3. Lost in the Black Hills

Aug 1, 2018
    Unfortunately I simply don't exactly know as I'm the 2nd owner since the fire. The person I got it from bought it to fix it but never did so he just wanted rid of it and I bought it from him. All we have is speculation as to how it started.

And yes...I do know it happened as they were driving. I think...lol

4. gladecreekwy

gladecreekwy Well-Known Member

Sep 25, 2016
    Propane must be turned off every time. Even if that was electrical having the propane on...... man it could have been a lot worse.

5. Sjm9911

May 31, 2018
    Nj