Question about AC & DC

Discussion in 'First Time & New Camper Owners' started by Aaron Bennett, Oct 9, 2018.

1. Aaron Bennett

Aaron Bennett New Member

Hello, I have a 99 camplite 10SG by Damon pup and I was wondering if I can mount my battery box on the tongue and have the battery constantly hooked up even if Im plugged into AC. The pervious owner just hooked it up when he needed 12v but I dont want to drag the battery in and out of the storage compartment. He mentioned to me to unhook the battery before plugging into AC but I dont see why I would have to do that. Wont the AC overide the DC when Im plugged in? Im pretty sure thats when the converter comes into play and converts the 120 to 12v as well as charges the battery. Please correct me if Im wrong. Im sure this sounds like a silly question, but Im new to pups. TIA

Last edited: Oct 9, 2018
  2. Shaman1

Shaman1 Well-Known Member

Welcome from Oklahoma. You are correct. The pup is like any other trailer in that regard. I always leave my battery in one place. I plug in when shore power is available with no need to disconnect the battery.

3. Pozi

Pozi Member

I agree with what Shaman1 said above. In addition to that, leaving the battery connected will keep it charged when connected to 120v.

4. Aaron Bennett

Aaron Bennett New Member

Thank you very much for confirming. I appreciate your help!

5. roybraddy

roybraddy Well-Known Member