san francisco to new york: total newbie needs advice

Discussion in 'Campground / Trip Planning & Suggestions ?' started by maybc, Aug 7, 2018.

1. maybc

maybc New Member

Aug 7, 2018
    hi there!
    we just bought a 1996 starcraft and are so excited. we are newbies, i mean NEWbies and have signed up to make a cross country trip. planning to go at the end of august with 2 adults, 2 kids, and dog along the northern route. would appreciate any particularly good routes or stop suggestions. we love camping but have never done this before. *yes, i know that a cross country trip may not be the easiest way to start but sometimes that's what you get. excited for the adventure and very appreciative of any tips, tricks, and suggestions. thank you!!

2. JPBar

JPBar Well-Known Member

Sep 22, 2016
    Texas
    That is a long trip. Would make sure the wheel bearings have been repacked, brakes checked (if camper has them). Tires are in good shape including spare, consider replacing if tires are over 5 years old no matter how good they look. I would suggest you practice on jacking the camper up on changing the tire. Get the proper tools you need to accomplish this. Have fun on your trip!

3. jmkay1

jmkay1 2004 Fleetwood/Coleman Utah

Oct 10, 2013
    Northern Virginia
    I also suggest to get a camp driveway in or two or three to make sure you got everything you need for the camper and that it's in sound shape for such a long trip. I would maintain the lift system before your trip. Making sure the pullys are oiled, wiffletree greased and the cables are in good shape. You Will be putting the lift system through a major workout so you need to make sure it's up to the task. May you have a safe trip an an awesome adventure.

hayyward, maybc and Sjm9911 like this.
  4. BikeNFish

BikeNFish Well-Known Member

Apr 24, 2017
    Maplewood, MN
    x2 on both of these.

Plan for the worst, hope for the best!

Good luck on your awesome trip!

maybc, Sjm9911 and JPBar like this.