Set up, stabalizers before roof up?

Discussion in 'General Camper Setup / Take Down' started by Dragonfli032, May 10, 2017.

1. Dragonfli032

Dragonfli032 Member

Mar 22, 2017
    Reno, NV
    hello I am new at this, but am getting conflicting information on set up. I have read that if you put the stabilizers down before putting the roof up you can damage them. But I emailed Rockwood and they say it doesn't really matter but they prefer you put them down before raising the roof. What are your thoughts and experiences?

2. xxxapache

xxxapache Well-Known Member

Jul 30, 2008
    I can't see how putting them down first would damage anything. I don't think it matters which comes first. I always put the stabs down first so I wouldn't be surprised with a pop up wheelie when I went to bed after earlier getting side tracked and forgetting the stabilizers.

3. rabird

rabird Howdy!

Mar 3, 2006
    TX
    rockwood is correct, however there are some manuals of PUs with different lift systems that claim lift system damage may occur! This forum is proof that not unlatching ALL 4 corners before cranking up WILL cause damage [!]

I prefered a solid foundation before cranking, follow your manufacture's directions.

upstate family likes this.
  4. Dudman5703

Dudman5703 Jeep Guy

Apr 17, 2012
    Grand Rapids, MI
    My manual says to put stabs down first, then lift. I follow that.

5. Dragonfli032

Dragonfli032 Member

Mar 22, 2017
    Reno, NV
    [Guitar]Awesome! Thanks all, my manual actually doesn't address set up, which is why I reached out to them. You have helped make that worry disappear

6. MrsSquid

MrsSquid Active Member

Aug 31, 2016
    Virginia