Tankless water heater for my Jayco Cardinal 6

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Repairs & Maintenance' started by Njemtmike, Nov 7, 2018 at 11:29 PM.

Tags:
  1. Njemtmike

Njemtmike New Member

Sep 14, 2018
    Hi all. I am new to the pop up camper world and learning. I am thinking about taking out my gas heater and replacing it with an electric tankless system. Would this work? I just bought it and I can not get it to ignite to heat my water.

Thank you,

Mike

2. joet

joet Well-Known Member

Mar 16, 2011
    Elkins WV area
    yes this would work....but.... keep in mind that the tank less heaters have a high amp draw at 240 volts which would be hard to find at a GC

3. mattlreese

mattlreese Member

Sep 6, 2017
    2nd @joet, you would only be able to install a small point of use electric hot water heater, one that would work for the sink but not for a shower.

4. Sjm9911

Sjm9911 Well-Known Member

May 31, 2018
    Nj
    Why not try and fix the one you have? Do you get gas to it?

5. BikeNFish

BikeNFish Well-Known Member

Apr 24, 2017
    Maplewood, MN
    Hello and welcome from Minnesota!

Please expand on this. Are you saying that you can't light the pilot light? There are plenty of reasons why the water heater won't ignite. Some fixes are very easy.

There are plenty of 12 volt portable tank-less propane water heaters available on the market that you could try. I don't know if you could find one that would fit in the space where your present one is if that is your intention and venting may also be a problem.

6. Sneezer

Sneezer Well-Known Member

Aug 8, 2015
    DFW, TX
    Do your other lpg appliances work? It always takes a while for me to get my water heater fired up each season. Sometimes it helps to get the stove working first to get more flow through the lines. I will also do the same with the heater before tackling the water heater.

Are you getting a pilot flame at all?

7. Njemtmike

Njemtmike New Member

Sep 14, 2018