Thermostat Replacement

Discussion in 'Heating / Cooling Systems' started by Bottom End, Dec 12, 2017.

  1. Bottom End

    Bottom End Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Hey Everyone

    Below is a picture of my thermostat. It is a heat only thermostat.

    The "on" switch broke and I need to replace the thermostat.

    I would like to replace it with a Digital one if possible. Maybe even one I can place a remote temperature sensor higher than where it is currently located near the floor.

    Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks

    upload_2017-12-12_14-2-16.png
     
  2. kitphantom

    kitphantom Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    695
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    We did this mod in both our pup and the TT. A simple Lux thermostat, with a momentary back light (has batteries) is what we bought, found on Amazon. We used a plug and long wire so we could use it when needed, and place it on the counter. That really minimized the temperature swings, which were huge when it was in a niche 4" off the floor. Note: the first, Hunter, thermostat we bought at Lowe's for the TT worked OK, but didn't have the momentary back light, after a year or so of having to use a flashlight to set the thermostat at night, we bought another Lux.
    DH eventually mounted the thermostat on a piece of wood, with tiny cup hooks on the top, and we hung it on the wire shelving unit.
     

    Attached Files:

    MaeKay likes this.
  3. BaysideJim

    BaysideJim Member

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    there are several threads that discuss this in detail.... it is a great easy mod and takes a few minutes and some basic skill with a great payoff much more accurate than the atwood thermos and the light is really nice
     
  4. Fless

    Fless Active Member

    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    176
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Location:
    Colorado
    @Bottom End, check out the one I have for sale in the For Sale forum. Would make for a nice tethered T-stat.
     
  5. MaeKay

    MaeKay Active Member

    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Location:
    Utah
    Is this the thermostat you used?

    LuxPro Digital 2 Wire Heat Only Thermostat - PSD010B https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002SR9PHM/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_fQKVAb95FPB0G
     
  6. kitphantom

    kitphantom Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    695
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    MaeKay likes this.
  7. Fbird

    Fbird Active Member

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    113
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2017
    Location:
    Ferndale MI
    I installed this one last fall.
     
    MaeKay likes this.
  8. lquinn1

    lquinn1 Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Location:
    Champaign, IL
    MaeKay likes this.
  9. nineoaks2004

    nineoaks2004 Every meal is a picnic and every Day is a holiday

    Messages:
    6,632
    Likes Received:
    2,584
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Location:
    Graceville, Florida
    I replaced an analog (mechanical type) with a Honeywell 69-2384ES-01mRTH111
    Non-Programmable Thermostat
    It only uses 2 wires, took a few minutes to install (uses batteries in the stat)
    I bought at Wally World for under $20.00
    And made a big difference in the TT. I use it for heat only.
    Hope this helps Good Luck and Happy Camping
     
    MaeKay likes this.
  10. MaeKay

    MaeKay Active Member

    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Location:
    Utah
    Oh joy. Now the furnace won’t ignite tonight. The blower turns on, I don’t even hear the clicks I usually and no louder sound when it ignites. And then the fan turns off. I lit the propane stove to see if we still had gas and the fridge is still cooling so I don’t think we ran out of propane.
     
  11. MaeKay

    MaeKay Active Member

    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Location:
    Utah
    Actually, I read through some previous posts. We flipped the reset button and turned it back on and it works now! Why would it have turned off? We didn’t even have to relight the pilot as far as I can tell.
     
  12. Fless

    Fless Active Member

    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    176
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Location:
    Colorado
    Glad the reset worked. Your PuP is new enough that the furnace has electronic ignition, so no pilot. Nice feature!
    _
     
    MaeKay likes this.
  13. MaeKay

    MaeKay Active Member

    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Location:
    Utah
    Yeah, I realized that what we were trying to light was the water heater. Whoops!
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.