Towing a 2002 Coleman Sea Pine w 2013 Town & Country

Discussion in 'Camper Pre-Purchase Questions' started by MovingTarget, Jun 6, 2019.

1. MovingTarget

MovingTarget New Member

I'm new to this, so please be kind :)

I am looking at purchasing a 2002 Coleman Sea Pine popup and was hoping to get some help determining if I could safely tow it with our 2013 Town & Country. The van currently does NOT have a hitch and I will need to install one. I'm trying to determine if, once that is done, it is safe for me to tow the camper, and if so, were there recommended things I should look for (trailer brakes, etc).

I did do some research and according to the manual, the Sea Pine has a 350lb tongue weight rating, but when I look at the specs for my van, I really don't understand what I see. The max tongue weight is listed anywhere from 300-360 lbs. Is the tongue weight of the trailer simply the weight at max capacity - or in other words, if I don't try to pack my trailer to capacity, I should be good to go.

Thanks for any help!

2. Eric Webber

Eric Webber Active Member

If you have the trailer completely empty, with whatever configuration they used to arrive at the starting tongue weight, that’s what it would be. After that, think of a see saw. Every pound you add behind the axle is removing some tongue weight. Every pound you add forward of the axle adds some. The further from the axle, the more extreme the impact. 50 lbs, six inches in front of the axle might put 49.5 on the axle and half a pound on the ball while that same 50 might put 49 on the ball if set up on the tongue

There are two constraints to keep in mind - you need to be under the upper limit of your tow vehicle hitch, and you want probably 10% of the total weight of the trailer on your ball. Europeans recommend 6-8% minimum (but they have low speed limits when towing) while North America tends to favour 10-15% minimum. Either way, heavier is better, up to the limit of the tow vehicle

3. MovingTarget