Unable to Remove Ceiling Light Lenses to Replace Bulbs (Starcraft Starmaster 21)

Discussion in 'Lighting, Interior and Exterior' started by SoCalHusker, Apr 20, 2017 at 7:54 PM.

1. SoCalHusker

SoCalHusker New Member

Thursday
    Costa Mesa, CA
    Okay, this is my first post and I feel a little dumb asking this question... but I am honestly baffled. I have a 1984 Starcraft Starmaster 21, with interior lights mounted on the ceiling. I need to replace a bulb that has burned out... but I can't, for the life of me, figure out how to get the lens off the fixture so I can access the bulb. The roof (being so old) seems like it might rip if I push/pull/twist too hard, and the lens is hard, like glass, so I worry about "pinching" or "pulling" it and breaking it. The picture (and arrow) point at the type of fixture I am working with... small, square, with a sliding switch on the side.

Any help is MUCH appreciated! I look forward to being an active member of this community!

04-20-2017 4-46-23 PM.jpg

2. KWAZ

KWAZ New Member

Mar 29, 2017
    Things like this can be so frustrating! I'm not familiar with this light fixture, but would look around the perimeter of the lens for a small slot to carefully put a flathead screwdriver and pop it off. Good luck!

3. SoCalHusker

SoCalHusker New Member

Thursday
    Costa Mesa, CA
    Thanks for your encouragement, KWAZ. I am going to need it... and when I get home I will absolutely take a very close look around the edges of the lens one more time for a tab or space to fit in a screwdriver, etc. I have tried everything but need to be patient and not force things... if the roof or the light itself breaks, it will be tough to replace at this time.

4. Can you take a closer pic of the fixture?