Wanted: free or extremely cheap pup

Discussion in 'Camping for the Medically/Physically Challenged' started by Barefoot311, Jul 31, 2015.

1. Barefoot311

Barefoot311 Member

Sep 22, 2011
    I am searching for a free or very cheap pop up in relatively good condition. Meaning my two year old son and wife would stay in it with me. I don't mind doing some work as I seem to have a lot of free time on my hands now.

Here's the story. Several years ago, my wife and I bought our first pop up camper. We were both relatively young (mid 20's) and were hard workers, both dedicated to our careers. She was a teacher and I was a police officer. Yes we both signed up for a lifetime of service at minimal pay, especially here in the great state of NC. Anyways, after several successful trips, we decided to take on an upgrade, a class c Motorhome that needed some pretty serious work. I have always been handy and love projects. Well this one got away from me. After a year went by, we were reaching an ending point and our camping was soon in sight again. As with most careers of service, I was unexpedely moved to another unit that required more time and attention than previous endeavors. One thing lead to another and we had to sell "The Beast".

As life went on over the next few years, my wife had some health issues that had to be addressed and money got shifted quickly to Dr bills. Than came out little bundle of joy! Our son, who is now 2, came into the world and graced us with a lifetime of smiles, laughs, tears and a lot of poopy diapers so far!

Shortly after our son was born, the pressure at work started becoming overwhelming. I was devolving fears that I never faced before and as a police officer, your fears can get you seriously hurt. I quickly became overwhelmed, trying to hide my anxiety, and soon to be my depression. The expectations of the unit I was in were unobtainable, and for a goal oriented individual like myself, I couldn't achieve them.