Water Shooting out the side of the PUP

Discussion in 'Plumbing Systems (The Fresh, The Blue, The Grey, &' started by mountain mike, Apr 30, 2018.

1. mountain mike

mountain mike New Member

Jul 25, 2017
    We got a NTU 2006 Jayco Baja 10Y pop-up. I am completely new to PUP's and am a little lost. I am fairly mechanically inclined so I am hoping I can trouble shoot these issues myself.

I tried out the water system yesterday and have a few concerns.

1. I hooked up the city water and when I turned off the water and disconnected the hose water came shooting out of the city water hook up with pressure and continue to come out for a few minutes.

2. I then tried the water tank and filled it with the hose, or at least part way. I turned on the pump and it blew out the city water hook up again. I went and got a cap and plug the city water inlet and that stopped the leak but then the system would not pressurize where the pump would turn off. I also was getting a lot of air in the lines which would not purge out.

Any ideas of how to address these issues?

2. BikeNFish

BikeNFish Well-Known Member

Apr 24, 2017
    Maplewood, MN
    Do you have a hot water heater? It sounds like you may have a bypass valve open that needs shutting.

3. mpking

mpking Well-Known Member

Jun 17, 2014
    Raynham, MA
    At first blush, it sounds like one of your check valve's (One Way Valve) has gone bad:

Here is an Extremely simplified diagram.
    upload_2018-4-30_13-45-44.png

Last edited: Apr 30, 2018
  4. BikeNFish

BikeNFish Well-Known Member

Apr 24, 2017
    Maplewood, MN
    Pic didn't work.

5. mountain mike

mountain mike New Member

Jul 25, 2017