What do you guys use for grills?

Discussion in 'General Camping Discussion Forum' started by jm88, Jul 23, 2018.

1. jm88

jm88 Member

Feb 12, 2017
    This is the second year for us using the PUP and I am still learning what we actually use and what we don't use as far as packing so I can eventually cut down on the amount of stuff we bring! For example, I have found that using the stove from the PUP installed outside has been working great rather than using the portable stove. One thing I would like to hear is what kind of grills you use. I have a Coleman Roadtrip grill that I have had for probably 8-10 years and while I love the interchangeable grates and that it has a stand, it is rather heavy and takes up a lot of room. I put it on the floor of the PUP when we travel, so that part works OK, but mostly it doesn't seem to be working that great lately. One side is definitely hotter than the other because when I make pancakes, they take a lot longer on one side even when they are set at the same setting. I also notice when grilling, I can hold my hand on certain areas over the grate and be able to hold it there for a long time while other parts I can't even hold it there a second, so it is pretty uneven. I don't remember if it has always been this way or not. But back to the point, what kind of portable grills do you use that cook well? I tend to use it a lot for steaks, chicken, fish, etc. along with cooking pancakes, bacon, etc. on it.

2. Arlyn Aronson

Arlyn Aronson Active Member

Jun 11, 2014
    Houghton MI
    Well, we used a simple Coleman, 2 burner white gas stove. But i should add, meat is generally cooked over da camp fire.

3. Rik Peery

Rik Peery Active Member

Jun 15, 2018
    Virginia