What is "healthy" cooking to you?

Discussion in 'Healthy Outdoor Cooking' started by CaliforniaPoppy, Dec 14, 2013.

1. CaliforniaPoppy

CaliforniaPoppy California and beyond!

Dec 4, 2007
    California Coast
    Just wondering what all of you consider healthy.

Are processed, reduced calorie foods healthy?

Are whole, unprocessed foods healthy, even if they're high in calories or fat?

Do you consider artificial sweeteners healthy?

Do you care about GMOs?

How about organic?

2. Dad2futurecampers

Dad2futurecampers New Member

Sep 10, 2013
    I'm a novice at healthy eating but I'm learning from my wife as she has been transforming the family eating habits.

My understanding is

Processed and reduced calorie foods are generally unhealthy due to preservatives, artificial preservatives used to make them shelf stable and artificial sweeteners added to them to replace sugar.

Whole unprocessed food high in calories or fat - Yes but everything in moderation (which is a struggle for me honestly)

I do not consider artificial sweeteners healthy - due health concerns over the substances involved and the fact that it makes products too sweet in my opinion and more addicting.

I do care about GMO's but I don't have enough cash to be crazy about them.

Organic - again I like to go organic but cash again is a consideration.

3. CaliforniaPoppy

Dec 4, 2007
    California Coast
    Yeah, that's a lot like our house. We used to garden a ton, but now we subscribe to a CSA that provides locally grown, mostly organic produce. We try to avoid processed foods, but with a husband that burns 7,000 calories a day and a teenaged son, some processed treats do make their way in.

We don't buy Coke or anything like that. We avoid HFCS and artificial sweeteners. We're not afraid of the fat in olive oil, nuts, avocados, organic butter, etc. My husband can eat more of that stuff than I can, though. He has a crazy metabolism and is really active.