Which Plug?

Discussion in 'Heating / Cooling Systems' started by 4sheds, Mar 13, 2008.

  1. 4sheds

    4sheds New Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    I have a Carrier V AC on my PUP. The guy who owned the PUP before I did installed the unit.

    He used a 15AMP power cord which looks like a standard plug. However, I installed a roof brace and the brace kit came with a 20AMP cord.
    Which power supply do I use?
    <img src="http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg283/stephenshed/DSC01667.jpg" border=0>

    <img src="http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg283/stephenshed/DSC01665.jpg" border=0>

    Steve, Janice, Kameron, Kaylee

    1998 Coleman Sun Ridge
    1997 Chevy P/U

    Edited by - 4sheds on March 13 2008 21:52:57

    Edited by - 4sheds on March 13 2008 21:53:57

    Edited by - 4sheds on March 13 2008 21:55:04
     
  2. JoeyIVI

    JoeyIVI New Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    I would recommend the 20 amp it is always better to have overkill then not enough picture this its a hot summer day you have the A/C pumping as it is drawing current through the smaller cable it generates heat eventually the heat builds up and melts the casing of the wire and they arc and start an electrical fire if you are putting in a brace in now you are there already i would its not worth losing your pop up over IMHO hope this helps
    Joey

    Joey
    Laura
    '02 Envoy
    '95 S10 Pickup
    '01 Dutchmen 1006xsd
     
  3. 4sheds

    4sheds New Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    will the campsites the odd shaped receptacle?

    Steve, Janice, Kameron, Kaylee

    1998 Coleman Sun Ridge
    1997 Chevy P/U
     
  4. dupreet

    dupreet New Member

    Messages:
    2,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    High Point, North Carolina
    Steve,

    I am not too familiar with your PUP - do you have a 30Amp cable/plug feeding the camper? if so, there should be a dedicated 'second' breaker and receptacle in the PUP for an AC.

    If you only have a 'standard' Edison cord feeding the PUP, you will need to run the AC on a second cord to the campground power source. In this case, you would ideally have a power pedestal with a 30Amp receptacle and a standard duplex receptacle that is either 15 or 20amp. You can pickup a $4.00 30A-to-15A adapter that you can use to power the AC from the 30A service and run the PUP off the duplex outlet. In a pinch, you can run both the campers cord and the AC off a single duplex outlet.....95% of the time you will be fine. This also works in Camp Backyard.....just keep 'stuff' other than the AC to a minimum.

    Hope this makes sense; if not, give a shout!

    Todd

    Wife & 3 Kids
    6 Stay-At-Home Pets
    '88 Palomino TXL hardsider
    '93 Ford E-350 Van
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/dupreet/sets
     
  5. 4sheds

    4sheds New Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    I do have a 30 AMP feed from the Camper. However, I was told by the previous owner to also run the AC from the campground power source. Is it necessary to run the AC from the campground power source?

    Steve, Janice, Kameron, Kaylee

    1998 Coleman Sun Ridge
    1997 Chevy P/U
     
  6. Pete

    Pete Member

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Location:
    Lubbock Texas
    It sounds to me like the previous owner may have added the a/c and did not add the dedicated outlet. Mine has a 20 amp outlet and a 20 amp breaker for the a/c. Most parks I have seen have a 50 amp,30 amp,and 2 15 amp outlets. If you run your a/c of the 15 amp use caution and check for your cord getting hot. It would be better to Install a 20amp breaker and outlet in your camper. Hope this helps.

    2002 Dodge Caravan
    1997 1224 Starcraft Spacestar

    Edited by - Pete on March 14 2008 00:24:28
     
  7. dupreet

    dupreet New Member

    Messages:
    2,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    High Point, North Carolina
    You should have two circuit breakers on your power panel. "Normally", there is a 15A breaker that powers the outlets scattered around the PUP. There should also be a 20A breaker that runs to a single 'dedicated' outlet that is for the air conditioner.

    This setup allows you to run the whole thing off of the 30A cord......again, you can get a 30A-15A adapter for smaller CG's and/or the backyard to run the whole rig.

    If what Pete said is true and there is not a second breaker in your panel, there should be a slot for one.....it is a fairly easy task to pop in a breaker and run a line to a new receptacle.

    Todd

    Wife & 3 Kids
    6 Stay-At-Home Pets
    '88 Palomino TXL hardsider
    '93 Ford E-350 Van
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/dupreet/sets

    Edited by - dupreet on March 14 2008 00:28:02
     
  8. phipps

    phipps Member

    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Location:
    Sidney, OH
    My camper had aftermarket AC installed at a dealer. It has a dedicated outlet for the AC. It has a 15A plug on the end, however the cord is a heavier cord and it is wired through a 20A breaker.

    Gary N8WSQ

    Charlotte DW
    Gary Lee DS
    Kortney DD

    1997 GMC Sierra
    1997 Camplite 2218

    www.geocaching.com
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.