Windy conditions

Discussion in 'General Weather Forum' started by Tbone, Mar 7, 2018.

1. Tbone

Tbone New Member

Feb 22, 2018
    Anaheim California
    I'm new to pop-ups When your camping and it get windy. Do you anchor the ends of the trailer?

2. kitphantom

kitphantom Well-Known Member

Dec 26, 2009
    Albuquerque, NM
    Welcome.

Which ends? Roof, bunk end at the bottom, or ??? And to what purpose?
    We didn't with either of our two popups, and we encountered heavy winds - we live and camp in the SW, where winds are a fact of life. Sustained winds in the 20-30 mph or so range, with higher gusts are what we had on a number of occasions.
    The only problems we had were:
    When we installed new canvas on the first popup, we forgot to add the retaining clips along the edges. I came back to the camper on a windy day to find a couple of the walls only help up by the corner supports. (We installed the clips as soon as we got home.)
    Putting up the roof solo on that first camper, which had external lifts, on a horribly windy day, was interesting at best, the roof wanted to shift too far to one end before I got it latched in position.
    On the second popup, a 2010 Coleman cobalt, we had one year with windy trip after windy trip. (On one it was snowing at at least a 45* angle, and the wind pushed the snow up under the roof board and through the gap in the canvas around the lifters, so it was snowing inside). The lift system cables, etc. needed to be adjusted after 3 or 4 such trips.

Also, if you add the make, model, and year of your camper to your signature line, the rest of us know which camper you have. That way, it's easier to answer questions, especially if there's something specific to that model. For instance, for this question, I'm answering in general, and with specifics to the two popups we've had.

Tbone likes this.
  3. Tbone

Tbone New Member

Feb 22, 2018
    Anaheim California