Yamaha & Honda Generators made in China now?

Discussion in 'Power - Site Power/Batteries/Generators/Solar' started by SmokeEater2, Jun 27, 2015.

1. SmokeEater2

SmokeEater2 New Member

I've been saving up for a 2000 watt Yamaha inverter genny and was looking at them on Amazon just now.

On a couple of recent reviews people were complaining that they are marked "made in China" now. I looked at the Honda and Amazon states country of origin is now Thailand.

I had been saving for a Yamaha or Honda because of the remarks and horror stories I've read about cheap Chinese generators, But there doesn't seem to be much choice available now.

I did notice that even though they are now made more cheaply in China, The price is still the same as it was for a real Japanese made Honda or Yamaha. [:(O]

Anyone bough one recently that was maybe still Japanese built or are they Chinese now?

2. turborich

turborich Active Member

Not sure where they are made currently however I doubt that either Honda or Yamaha would sacrifice their legendary reputation when it comes to their inverter generators. I'm sure that their build quality is still the best. E-mail both companies and ask them instead of speculating and possibly spreading misinformation. [2C]

3. skeetercampsintexas

skeetercampsintexas Active Member

If you lived in Japan would you care whether your car was manufactured by the westerners in America or Canada? After all, we're pretty good neighbors.

4. vinmaker

vinmaker Member

It is just a continuation of the Chinese trend. Companies move production to china to save money. There will be no drop in price because they need to preserve profit margins.