1995 Jayco Jay Series flooring

Discussion in 'General Camping Discussion Forum' started by Kduds, Apr 23, 2020.

1. Kduds

Kduds New Member

Hi all! I am brand new to pop up camping, although I have been an avid camper for as long as I can remember. So, my husband and I followed what we thought was a good lead on a nice used camper last spring. Bought from a friend who somewhat reconditioned the camper so it's got some nice amenities (new fridge, cute dining table, brand new interior A/C unit, new wiring, new lighting, and new textiles which I don't love but I'll get to that later, and new appearing flooring). We used it one time and quickly discovered she was going to need a lot more love and we were going to need to remove a bunch of "bandaids over bullet holes" to get to the root of some pretty significant problems. I had to replace the camper cables (if you need any advice on how to rework an L&W lift system, I am your girl, I rebuilt ours from basically scratch thanks to popupparts.com and our local hardware store). We're waiting on the world to reopen to get our new canvas which we ordered right before COVID-19. And so I got into the camper the other day (it's just starting to get warm where I live, so I've got the itch to start some projects) to repaint the cabinets which were done with crappy paint that's chipping. Anyway. While I was in there I noticed a smell. So I went a little crazy and started to peel up some of the flooring to find more flooring underneath that. And below that was some fairly moldy subfloor. So out came the cabinets and the rest of the flooring. The subfloor is not soft, it's not rotted, and some Concrobium killed and sealed that pretty quickly and quite well. No more smell. But. Now I have to replace the flooring. I found some that I like quite a bit, but I should have prefaced all of this by saying I'm a super cheap-wad and hate spending money. I can buy enough to cover the entire floor from wall to wall with a click together LVP, b