1998 Jayco Cascade Lift Problems

Discussion in 'Lift Systems' started by Lynnea V, Nov 28, 2019.

1. Lynnea V

Lynnea V New Member

Hi friends,

I'm new to this forum and new to working on campers, too. I'm an A&P aircraft mechanic by trade and do what I can to work on my car and now on my parents' 1998 Jayco Heritage Series Cascade. They're working hard to get it in tip-top shape again, and we were just getting ready to install a new canvas on the PUP when apparently the roof collapsed on them.

Because of constant rain and lack of manpower, we haven't been able to lift the roof yet and get a good look at what's going on. At first I thought maybe a cable had broken, but considering the whole roof fell down and not just one corner, we're thinking it might be something with the winch. Now, my dad said the Jayco dealer claimed that the lift system had a built-in break to prevent the roof from falling in like that. The winch handle moves freely in both directions with no noise or resistance. Is the brake a ratchet and pawl system? I read somewhere that it might be a clutch, but I don't see anything like that on any pictures?

Any troubleshooting help would be greatly appreciated while we're stuck inside for the next few days thanks to the rain. Thanks!

2. bondo54

bondo54 Active Member

3. SteveP

SteveP Well-Known Member

It's a combination of pawl and clutch. The clutch holds against the pawl until the handle is turned backward, allowing the clutch to release. But the pawl is what actually holds the winch. If the pawl failed the roof might fall.

There is a single cable attached to winch, which is then attached to the 4 corner cables through a square yoke. This is the more likely point of failure. Only accessible from the inside of the camper. You'll find it in a box step across the end of the camper where the winch is mounted.

Raycfe likes this.
  4. Raycfe

Raycfe Waterford Ct.

You may need a #1 or #2 square bit for the screws of the step

5. Lynnea V