8 Way Square connector - to 12v battery

Discussion in 'Power - Site Power/Batteries/Generators/Solar' started by gelham01, May 13, 2019.

1. gelham01

gelham01 New Member

I currently have a 8 way square connector coming from my 1996 Palomino Filly popup. How would I connect this to a 12v battery when dry camping? I am VERY new to the popup world, and would appreciate any help.

Thanks.

Attached Files:

2. GreyFox

GreyFox Well-Known Member

Not sure I understand what you're asking - why would you want to connect this 8-pin to a battery? [?:~{]

3. rabird

rabird Howdy!

this how my battery was wired by previous owner or dealer.
    The batt neg went to a common ground clamp under the trailer
    The batt + had a in line fuse at the battery and was splice into the "charge line" that was wired from the trailer connector to the power center/converter.
    battert.jpg

4. gelham01

gelham01 New Member

The reason I mentioned the 8 pin is because that's the only wires I have, which are all going to the 8 pin. This 8 pin connects to a 4 pin adaptor and connects to my vehicle when towing. When docked, I was hoping I could connect the 8 pin to the battery instead of doing any splicing.

5. gelham01

gelham01 New Member

So this would charge the battery while connected to the vehicle, and would work as the power source when disconnected from vehicle?

6. rabird

rabird Howdy!

yes if the vehicle is capable of charging and wires in the connector are connected to the vehicle (your 8 to 4 adapter does not do that), as for hooking the battery to the 8 square, you need to find the pin that is the charge line 12v+ and connect it to the batt + (fused at battery) connect the 12v- batt to its correlated pin or connect the 12v- batt to trailer frame.

7. erich82

erich82 Active Member