98 Palomino Mustang 8 pin plug to 7 blade questions

Discussion in 'Wiring' started by Matt D Bushnell, Jun 29, 2020 at 12:42 PM.

1. Matt D Bushnell

Matt D Bushnell New Member

Hello All,
    I am new to the popup camper world. Growing up my parents had a truck camper and later a pull trailer and I never had to worry about if things worked or not. But now, being an adult with my own family I need some help. We have used tents until recently buying an old popup which needed some work.
    I have completed most of the canvas work and now replaced the roof with a new rubber cover and am doing the electrical. I am pretty good with wiring things up when standard wires are available. But with this PU it has a 8 pin rectangular hookup so I cut the wires and started converting it to a 7 blade adapter since my GMC has a 7 blade receptacle.
    I think I have it figured out as far as running lights, turn signals, brake lights and so forth.
    The wires are from top left to right
    Blue 14 G (Trailer brakes - which this trailer does not have) - Green 14 G (Running lights) - Black 14 G (Pig tailed - one to trailer one to PU battery positive terminal and 12v + for interior lights) - White 12 gauge (Battery Negative terminal)
    The second row of wires from left to right are
    White 14 G (To PU chassis ground) - Brown 14 G (right turn) - Red 14 G (Left turn) - Grey 14 G (Unknown where to connect this to).

If you see something wrong with the wiring please reach out and let me know so I do not fry anything.

So here are my questions...
    1. Out of the 8 wires there were 2 white ground wires. One for the PU frame ground and one for the PU battery ground terminal. But which one is which? Maybe since going to a 7 blade I just hook them both to the same ground and then pigtail them to their respective locations?