98 Rockwood popping house breaker.

Discussion in 'Power - Site Power/Batteries/Generators/Solar' started by itpoppedup, May 7, 2008.

  1. itpoppedup

    itpoppedup New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Perhaps this has been touched up upon in the past but I couldn't find it using the search feature.

    We just bought a 98 Rockwood Premier. I tried to plug it into the house using a standard adapter and extension cord. When I do so, the house breaker is popping. The breakers are 20AMP. There is nothing major running in the popup.

    Is it required that this run on a 30AMP breaker or something? When I switch the power converter to battery power(had to use jumper cables on the battery cause it's dead) the lights in the popup do power up fine.

    One other note, if I turn off the breaker on the popup power converter and put the switch to neutral and plug the shore power in, it still pops the breaker.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Edited by - itpoppedup on May 07 2008 21:43:50
     
  2. dupreet

    dupreet New Member

    Messages:
    2,184
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    High Point, North Carolina
    Hi,

    It sounds like you might have a shorted power cable, crossed wires in the plug, or crossed wires in the PUP going into the converter.

    You do not 'need' a 30A service to power up the PUP.

    I could go into troubleshooting, but it is probably better if you have a friend/neighbor that has some electrical experience. It should hopefully be an 'easy fix'.

    If you are comfortable with electrical power and have a multimeter, let us know......there are some simple steps to take in trying to work it out.

    Todd

    Wife & 3 Kids
    6 Stay-At-Home Pets
    '88 Palomino TXL hardsider
    '93 Ford E-350 Van
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/dupreet/sets
     
  3. itpoppedup

    itpoppedup New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    I do have a tester and am pretty confortable around electric. But I don't know where to start since this thing pops the breaker the second it's plugged in.
     
  4. dupreet

    dupreet New Member

    Messages:
    2,184
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    High Point, North Carolina
    Okay,

    First off, work back from the outlet. Check the female end of the extension cord. You should have 115-120 volts AC across the two flat blades, the same from the smaller blade and ground, nothing from the wider blade and ground. If it checks out, plug the adapter cable in and test its female end.

    Is your 30A male connector molded, or can you open it up? If you can open it up, verify that the green wire is on the round ground pin, the black wire is on the darker bronze blade, and the white wire is on the brighter silver blade.

    If it is molded, I would venture to guess your converter may be blown and causing the breaker to trip. If you want to continue testing, you could investigate whether the wires are crossed going into the converter. You could also disconnect the three wires in the power cord from the converter and check the cord's continuity.....check each wire, seeing if it might be shorted somewhere in the line. You obviously want to disconnect it from the power source before disconnecting and doing the continuity test.

    I hope this makes sense - good luck!!

    Todd

    Todd

    Wife & 3 Kids
    6 Stay-At-Home Pets
    '88 Palomino TXL hardsider
    '93 Ford E-350 Van
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/dupreet/sets
     
  5. kelbell1

    kelbell1 New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Naugatuck CT
    Thanks for the help, I'll take look at it in the morning and see what I can come up with. I'll post what I come up with.
     
  6. Xolthrax

    Xolthrax Franconia, Pa.

    Messages:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Franconia, Pa. Butter capital of the East
    That certainly sounds like a shorted wire in the power cable. The fact that it seems to work OK on 12V indicates that the converter isn't <i>totally</i> fried.

    If you have a spare (and I mean spare) heavy duty extension cord (14 guage), you could snip off the female side and wire it to the converter in place of the original power cord. If it works, then it's definitely your cord.

    Of course, if your cord is bad, then it should still blow the house breaker even when it's not connected to the converter.

    If your converter is bad, I got a great deal on a Parallax 6730 from RV Power Parts Plus.

    Good Luck,


    Joe

    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp">'96 Rockwood Signature Series 1280
    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_suv.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Tow Vehicle">'07 Ford Explorer

    <i>Wherever you go, there you are.</i>
     
  7. Peter

    Peter New Member

    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    I have same problem.....check this thread out. Look at pictures of my converter wires.

    Electricial Problem

    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_suv.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Tow Vehicle"> '03 Hyundai Santa Fe GL 2.7L; <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp"> '96 Damon Camplite 2218 S

    Edited by - Peter on May 08 2008 09:53:24
     
  8. itpoppedup

    itpoppedup New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Ok, so I removed the plate on the top of the converter where the heavy gauge shore cable is wired in. And the problem jumped right out and said, "Here I am". Their are two screws that hold that plate on the top of the converter box and one of the screws had gone completely through one of the wires. Once I took care of that, no more popping house breakers.

    Thanks for everyones help, i'm sure my wife, Kelbell1 and myself will be seeking more in the future :)
     
  9. Peter

    Peter New Member

    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    I wish mine was that simple!

    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_suv.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Tow Vehicle"> '03 Hyundai Santa Fe GL 2.7L; <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp"> '96 Damon Camplite 2218 S
     
  10. Yoti14

    Yoti14 Member

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Hey Joe, is that power converter you put in replace the original or an add-on? I've been getting mixed answers from people on this subject. I want to replace the whole power in my unit, with better stuff (for electronics f course). Is that the power center to go with then?

    Jeff

    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_suv.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Tow Vehicle">1997 Chevrolet Blazer ZR-2
    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp">1994 Jayco Eagle 10
    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_beer.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Cold Beer">Pembroke Welsh Corgi Named Leinie Red
    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_sun.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Sun">9 Month old son named J.A.B.
     
  11. dupreet

    dupreet New Member

    Messages:
    2,184
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    High Point, North Carolina
    Glad to hear it was an easy fix.

    Peter,

    I have read your other posting - looks like you have found the problem. I will post over there.

    Todd

    Wife & 3 Kids
    6 Stay-At-Home Pets
    '88 Palomino TXL hardsider
    '93 Ford E-350 Van
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/dupreet/sets
     
  12. ogeer3

    ogeer3 New Member

    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Prairie,TX,75052
    Jeff,
    I replaced the converter in my camper last year for the same reasons. I went with the WFCO 8725. I got it for a good price on eBay still new in the box. It was an increase in 12V power and has regulated and filtered 12 output. It also has a 3-stage battery charger built in and it was a direct replacement for the Centurion 3000 converter that was in the camper from the factory. What ever converter you choose make sure it is a drop in replacement for your old one. You don't want to have to go cutting holes if it is not necessary.

    Happy Camping!
    Otis

    '05 Silverado TV <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_suv.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Tow Vehicle">
    '03 Skamper PU <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp">
    Grand Prairie, TX <img src=../Images/flags/us-army.jpg border=0 align=middle alt="US Army"> <img src=../Images/flags/us-powmia.jpg border=0 align=middle alt="POW/MIA">
     
  13. Yoti14

    Yoti14 Member

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Thanks for the info Otis. It's very helpful. It look like I'll doin some cuttin though. The Carson Power converter in my PU is kinda smallish compared to some of the replacements. No big deal for me. I' just keep cuttin and reshapin till this Jayco looks like I want it too <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_tongue.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Tongue">

    Again Thanks.

    Jeff

    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_suv.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Tow Vehicle">1997 Chevrolet Blazer ZR-2
    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp">1994 Jayco Eagle 10
    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_beer.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Cold Beer">Pembroke Welsh Corgi Named Leinie Red
    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_sun.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Sun">9 Month old son named J.A.B.
     
  14. Xolthrax

    Xolthrax Franconia, Pa.

    Messages:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Franconia, Pa. Butter capital of the East
    Jeff, I replaced my original Magnetek for all of the same reasons that Otis did. I use a lot of electronics, and the old unit didn't have filtered output, so it fried a few things. The Parallax was a direct replacement for my unit. It even came with the breakers pre-installed, so it was a piece of cake to do the swap.


    Joe

    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_pu.gif border=0 align=middle alt="PopUp">'96 Rockwood Signature Series 1280
    <img src=../Images/icons/icon_smile_suv.gif border=0 align=middle alt="Tow Vehicle">'07 Ford Explorer

    <i>Wherever you go, there you are.</i>
     

Share This Page