Anyone use a Chuck/Grub box?

Discussion in 'General Camping Discussion Forum' started by ghacker, Apr 26, 2013.

1. ghacker

ghacker Active Member

We do virtually all our cooking outside. About the only thing we do inside the PUP is boil water for coffee/tea. Cook over a campfire or on a Coleman stove.

We're getting tired of digging through plastic bins to find condiments, utensils, dry foods, etc. Running a Cubscout Pack, I've seen a number of variations of Scout chuckboxes. Wondering if anyone here has come up with some good ideas I can incorporate? It'd be nice to be able to have things at my fingertips and easy to pack one box in the truck instead of 2-3 bins.

Don't want it to take 2 people to lift. I can handle up to @110 lbs, +/- 10 lbs. w/o killing myself. Would like to keep it about 42" long or less. I'm a fair to middling woodworker or could have something fabricated out of aluminum. Any ideas you've used?

2. pafree

pafree New Member

never knew about chuck boxes til see the one in this thread. http://www.popupportal.com/index.php?topic=70323.0 i also have to dig through bins to find cooking tools. something like it would be great. maybe have removalalbe legs like slip on pipe like a deer feeder where pipe/tubing could slip inside of the pipe mounted on the box. maybe have the back leg straight up and down so you could set it up next to the PUP. maybe add powerstrip to the inside to power the coffee pot or crockpot and a small night light. it would make a great place to set up the coffee pot and crockpots and just close up at night or if the weather gets bad.

[​IMG]

3. Livin2Camp

Livin2Camp New Member