Apple River Canyon State Park, IL

Discussion in 'Illinois' started by dgsh3, Apr 5, 2014.

1. dgsh3

dgsh3 New Member

I just returned from a recon trip to Apple River Canyon SP. This will likely be the destination for my first non-boondocking, non-winter camping trip with the new pup that I just bought last August. This is my first attempt at offering a review, so bear with me.

The park and campground were easy to find, due west of Rockford about 15 minutes just north of route 20. It's a pretty small campground, but several of the sites seemed to be good sized and reasonably spaced, although some sites seemed to have limited growth between sites to minimize a direct line of site to your neighbors. However with no vegetation growing yet, it might be ok later in the spring. My favorite site looks to be #40. About half the site are reservable and these seemed to be the larger sites. This campground has no hookups, which appeals to me as I prefer boondocking, but wanted to find a nearby campground to acquaint myself with some of the pups features while having nearby source to fill/use the water tank.

The apple river runs just at the base of some nice bluffs. It's a very clear river, but from what I gather they don't allow swimming or wading. In fact, the DNR just released rainbow trout into the river, which I was told they do every spring for fishing. Rainbow require very clear and cool water to sustain them, however do to the warm summer temps here they don't survive throughout the summer. There are also some decent hiking trails, but not too long or of great difficulty in my opinion.

There was a local resident walking the campground while I was there, a beautiful day for it. She was very friendly and we chatted briefly. She told me she knows the staff at the park office and the campground hosts and that they were very nice. She also said the campground doesn't usually get too busy, but the summer holidays it may be more so.