Backing Up This 32 Foot Camper Is No Joke

Discussion in 'Going to the DARK SIDE' started by Kittyhawksurf, Apr 13, 2018.

1. Kittyhawksurf

Kittyhawksurf Work, family, surf, eat, camp.

Okay friends. I don't exactly know where to post this, but...

I've been backing up this 32 foot camper in an out of the driveway for a couple of weeks. We haven't gone camping yet because we are still prepping. WDH hitch, truck, loading, etc. I managed to back into my house and crack the fiberglass on the camper, dent it and also damaged my house slightly. I'm an insurance agent, but there's no way I'm filing that claim. It's relatively minor damage... bla, bla.

Anyway, the point is I need a good back-up camera. The camper is prewired for a Furrion camera, but I've heard some horror stories about those cameras when reading the reviews. I want a nice camera that I can turn on and look behind me while driving. I don't know if different cameras use different connections.

Does anyone have any suggestions for GREAT quality backup cameras?

2. swordfish

swordfish Well-Known Member

Check out 4UCam digital wireless camera. "Digital" makes the difference.

3. RockyRoo

RockyRoo Just because you CAN doesn't mean you SHOULD

Get the Furrion OBSERVATION camera, it's much better than the regular back up camera. That said, it sounds like you probably should go to a parking lot and practice instead of your driveway, also sounds as though either your driveway is too tight for a rig that size OR you are overcorrecting too much. Don't get in a hurry with this process (backing up), take your time and don't be afraid to get out and check frequently. Once you get the hang of it you will realize it really is much easier to back that rig in than it was a short pop up

jnc likes this.
  4. Kittyhawksurf

Thanks. I hit the basket ball goal yesterday and put a big scratch down the side. I learned how the back swing the opposite direction when turning. Lesson learned.

5. generok