Battery, fuse replacement

Discussion in 'Wiring' started by Nanapoppypops, May 19, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Nanapoppypops

    Nanapoppypops Member

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2019
    Bought a new 12 volt RV deep density battery. Since we were having a problem with lights, I was told to change the fuse next to battery in case. Does anyone know what size fuse I would need? Battery is 10 x 9 x 6" in size. Thank you. I bought a 30A ATO fuse. I could not tell what was in there before because the number was worn off.
     
  2. Snow

    Snow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    10,044
    Likes Received:
    986
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario
    If it were a fuse. They are colour coded.. IIRC 30amp fuses are green. Or did you have a resetable circuit breaker?
     
  3. Anthony Hitchings

    Anthony Hitchings Active Member

    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    125
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    There "should" be two relevant fuses. The larger "battery" fuse, and the smaller fuse on your branch circuit for lighting. There may be one more large fuse where the +12V lands on your power center (converter).
     
  4. joet

    joet Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,601
    Likes Received:
    880
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Location:
    Elkins WV area
    You will have 1 fuse. It won't be any larger than 30 amp at the battery. Your convertor will have smaller fuses
     
  5. Nanapoppypops

    Nanapoppypops Member

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2019
    After purchasing 30A fuses, I looked at the old fuse I replaced and, although you couldn't read the number on it anymore, I found it and it was a 15 and it was blue. Never knew they were color coded. So a new 15 is in place for the battery. Our converter has three 15 and one 30 fuse. Learning new things everyday. Thanks for your help
     
  6. Nanapoppypops

    Nanapoppypops Member

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2019
    Not re-settable. The battery fuse wound up being a 15 afterall. No one could read the number any longer but didn't realize they were color coded.
     
  7. Nanapoppypops

    Nanapoppypops Member

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2019
    Replaced battery fuse with a new 15. It was a pretty old fuse and the number was hard to see but was found. Still exploring this NTU pup. The converter has three 15 and one 30 fuse. Thanks for help
     
  8. Nanapoppypops

    Nanapoppypops Member

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2019
    It wound up being a 15, old fuse and number hard to see. Never realized they were color coded. Just learned that from Snow! Thank you
     
  9. BillyMc

    BillyMc Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    450
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Location:
    South Carolina
    15 amp sounds kinda small. Other than light what do you have that runs on 12 volt?
     
  10. Nanapoppypops

    Nanapoppypops Member

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2019
    I'm not really sure but other than the lights inside, there is a water heater, water pump, stove, frig, air conditioner, overhead fan. Won't be using frig or air conditioning
     
  11. theseus

    theseus Centerville, OH

    Messages:
    2,848
    Likes Received:
    407
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Centerville, OH
    Water pump, over head fan, and fridge all use DC power. However don’t use the fridge on DC. It will just drain the battery really fast.

    You didn’t mention a furnace. That would also use DC power for the fan.

    The A/C and your 120 outlets will not use the battery at all. If you are dry camping (boondocking) they will not work.
     
  12. Nanapoppypops

    Nanapoppypops Member

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2019
    Okay. What's a good size fuse for the battery, 15A or 30A. Thanks for help
     
  13. theseus

    theseus Centerville, OH

    Messages:
    2,848
    Likes Received:
    407
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Centerville, OH
    I use a 30A at the battery and smaller ones for the branch circuits. The branch circuits fuses will be in the camper’s power center.
     
  14. BillyMc

    BillyMc Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    450
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Unless you have something high demand I guess 15 amps should handle the load. My fridge draws just over 9 amps when in 12 volt mode, but it has it's own inline fuse. My furnace draws 3.4 amps. Never checked the draw on the water pump, but it runs very little. All my lights are LED. Never checked the TV in 12 volt. Have four USB ports and 2 12v outlets. Ours had a 30 amp when we got it, but I dropped it to a 20 amp. The 20 amp has worked fine into the second season now.
     
  15. Nanapoppypops

    Nanapoppypops Member

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2019
    Makes sense. Thank you
     
  16. brwarrior

    brwarrior Active Member

    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Location:
    Clovis, CA
    If you use 30A at the battery make sure the wire from the battery to the panel are #10 AWG or larger.
     
    BillyMc likes this.
  17. Nanapoppypops

    Nanapoppypops Member

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2019
    Not sure what that means. Originally it had a 15 fuse for the battery. The converter has all 15's and one 30 fuse.
     
  18. brwarrior

    brwarrior Active Member

    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Location:
    Clovis, CA
    #10 AWG is the size of the wire. It's required for a 30 amp fuse. #14 will work for 15A, however, the voltage drop at 12 volts and that small of wire is substantial.
     
  19. Nanapoppypops

    Nanapoppypops Member

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2019
    Okay, thank you
     
  20. WrkrBee

    WrkrBee Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,351
    Likes Received:
    893
    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Makes no sense to have a 15 amp fuse at the battery and a larger 30 amp fuse in the converter.
     
    theseus likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.