Battery not charging when plugged on the 110?

Discussion in 'Power - Site Power/Batteries/Generators/Solar' started by Alex Gagnon, Aug 17, 2019.

1. Alex Gagnon

Alex Gagnon New Member

Hi,

I'm new in the Pop Up world, still have a lot to learn.

I have a 2004 Coleman Carmel.

This week I started to hear a Beep-Beep-Beep from the inside of the Pop Up, research on the internet told me that it was probably the LP detector warning me that the battery is low (internet was right). Seems like the LP detector can drain the battery in about a month when the RV is not used.

So I plugged the popup on my house exterior outlet thinking it will recharge the battery and the Beep-Beep-Beep didn't stop. I let the popup plugged-in all night long and on the morning the battery was still low charge.

So I plugged my battery charger directly on the battery and at the seconds the charger start the Beep end. A night later my battery was full.

So it's mean by battery is not charging using the 110. Why? Is it because the popup is close? Is there a switch somewhere that I should open so the battery will charge?

Last camping trip was fine, eveything works as it should. Battery is charging on the road using the trailer wires, etc.

Thanks for your help.
    Alex

2. GreyFox

GreyFox Well-Known Member

Sounds like your converter is pooched. :(

3. rabird

rabird Howdy!

Keep the battery charger handy! Give the battery a full overnight charge monthly, and disconnect the battery from the PU so it does not drain.

Troubleshoot your power center/converter.

4. Alex Gagnon

Alex Gagnon New Member

Doest that mean nothing will work when plugged? I mean, the lights, the pump, the fridge, the heater fan, etc does a broken converter affect all this? Or is it only that the battery will not charge. Because I can leave until the end of the season with a battery that dont charge on the 110.

5. GreyFox