Battery Recommendations?

Discussion in 'A-Frame PopUps' started by razcob, May 11, 2018.

1. razcob

razcob Member

Any recommendations for a battery for my 2012 Ranger 12?

2. tombiasi

tombiasi Well-Known Member

How much power will you need? What will you be running?

3. razcob

razcob Member

I admit that I am new to the Aliner/RV world, so I have some assumptions that may not be correct. I am here to learn, so let me know if you have a better suggestion based on your experience.

I plan to dry camp often. I have a 2000 watt generator that should be able to run the A/C and hopefully fridge. I am more concerned that the WFCO 8735 can maintain the voltage needs of an AGM battery. The specs say it multi stage with overcurrent, temp protection, etc., so I was surprised when others recommended a wet cell battery instead of an AGM.

Others have suggested that a wet cell will provide longer life, but I like the trade off of mounting the battery inside, without the need to vent it. I have read too many threads of people having their batteries stolen from the tongue.

4. razcob

razcob Member

Last edited: May 12, 2018
  5. JimmyM

JimmyM Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

That AGM battery will do just fine. The only reason to pay the premium for an AGM would be to mount it inside. So if that's what you're going. That's a nice big AGM.
    I have 2x 6V batteries, but they're mounted on the tongue. So no need for AGM. 2x 6V batteries are a great $/AH solution and they take a beating.
    The fridge will run on propane, no problem. Barely uses any gas.
    The WFCO 8735 will charge an AGM just fine.

6. TNW

TNW Member

A you presumably know, the fridge can be worked off the LP system, at least my 2014 Ranger 12's fridge can. It uses very little propane in my experience and works great.