Best cooking methods suggestions.

Discussion in 'Pots, Pans, Grills, Other Cookware / Cleaning & Fo' started by RockinD, Aug 31, 2016.

1. RockinD

RockinD Member

I am looking for a propane cooking stove/grill combo kind of thing for cooking.

My brother has the Camper Chef Explorer with bag, plus the Camper Chef Griddle with bag, plus the Camper Chef Grill with bag. It all cost a bundle and it doesn't cook very evenly. But it is a nice set up. I like the different parts I can use with it and the bags to keep everything in.

I am new to camping high impact. So I'm curious what works best for people. I do have a gas stove in the camper. But what other methods work well. Would I be better off just using an electric skillet or electric griddle to do my cooking? I'm not sure my PUP could handle the amps. I would have to test it. I just saw an infomercial on these induction burners that only get hot with metal. Those look kind of cool. Anyone ever tried one of those? I've also looked at those folding camping/tailgating propane grills.

So what have you tried, what has worked and what would you recommend?

2. chuckearnhardt

chuckearnhardt Member

We use a couple different thing. First is a Coleman Eventemp Propane Stove, on which I use a cast iron skillet or griddle. We also do a lot of cast iron Dutch Oven cooking over the fire, using the coal counting method for temperature control. We find these two types of cooking covers most of what we need.

3. eoleson1

eoleson1 Well-Known Member

I use the outdoor stove that came with the camper for much of my cooking. I also carry a mini weber grill and a cast iron dutch oven to add flexibility. I use an electric skillet when I'm staying long term in a hotel, but I've never used it camping. It works great for cooking most things, but they can be a pain to clean up in a hotel bathroom sink!