bike rack on roo

Discussion in 'PopOut (Hybrids)' started by RockyRoo, Jul 21, 2012.

1. RockyRoo

RockyRoo Just because you CAN doesn't mean you SHOULD

Has anyone had any experience with mounting a bike rack into a 2 inch receiver mounted to the rear bumper of a Roo? I am considering trying it even though it voids the warranty, but have heard mixed reviews on future problems. I am looking for some real world experience to help answer this once and for all.

Jay

2. bikendan

bikendan Active Member

i have no real world experience because of all the negatives about doing this.
    the rear bumpers on ultra-lite frames are flimsy and have cheap welds that can't handle the physics of a loaded bike rack. remember, your Roo has no shocks. my bikes are too valuable to risk doing something like this.

the only successful way to do it, is to weld the receiver to the frame and bumper, with reinforcing braces.

unfortunately, this will void the frame's warranty, which is fine if yours is no longer warrantied. but you have a 2013.

a quick search of any RV forums about this, will be overwhelmingly against doing it, on any ultra-lite trailer.

it's your decision and there's nothing against the law against it. but if it damages the frame/bumper, it will not be covered.

3. cwolfman13

cwolfman13 Active Member

If it's still under warranty, why would you ever do anything to void that warranty? There are numerous other options that will not void your warranty.

4. Storm Trooper

Storm Trooper Home is where you park it!

You can put a hitch on the front of the Suburban and put the bike rack there.

5. smellott

smellott Livin' in NH but a WV Mountaineer for life