Brakes on an 86 Jayco?

Discussion in 'Tires / Brakes / Bearings / Axles' started by AlexVanEks, Aug 22, 2019.

1. AlexVanEks

AlexVanEks Member

So I was out eyeballing the pet project today and found a grey cap in the front of the trailer, just behind the hitch release lever (is there a name? Idk I'm a newbie and an idiot ). On the trailer embossed into the metal said "use dot3 brake fluid" and underneath appears to be a master cylinder or reservoir of some variety. There is a metal line running along the passenger side of the interior of the trailer and disappeared out of sight.

Does anyone happen to know if Jaycos had some form of brake (parking or otherwise) on the old 1986 models? If so, service info would be much appreciated ^^ I do my own brakes on my vehicles, as I'm a bit of a shade tree mechanic.

1986 Jayco Jayking 8 (12 foot model)

*** will get photos when the weather clears ***

2. WrkrBee

WrkrBee Well-Known Member

You have surge brakes. Should look close to the drum brakes that used to be on cars.

neighbormike likes this.
  3. AlexVanEks

AlexVanEks Member

Okay, thanks! I have worked on drum brakes once, on an old 91 Honda Civic. I will have to do a check on them and service as necessary :)

I didn't know those were a thing on 'regular' campers! I thought only the ultra high end campers got them lol

4. WrkrBee

Some camper manufactures offered them as an option.

5. AlexVanEks

AlexVanEks Member

Well with such scant info about this camper and the Jay King line in general, I am thinking there weren't too many of these. With all the 'luxury' offered in this old girl, I'm wondering just how many there were actually built. She's number 112 by VIN.
    The closest I've ever found for photos is an 86 Jay Dove, but the cabinets are different and laid out more efficiently in mine. The outside looked identical though - same decals and all!

Lousy photos

6. Sneezer

Sneezer Well-Known Member