Camping in Illinois and Neighboring States.

Discussion in 'Campground / Trip Planning & Suggestions ?' started by riv1707, Jun 14, 2010.

1. riv1707

riv1707 New Member

I'm looking for some nice campgrounds with in a days drive from central Illinois. Preferably shady with light hiking, fishing is a plus, electric hook-ups, and close amenities for my girlfriend an I or possibly with another couple. Any help would be appreciated considering I'm basically a newbie.

2. Yooperwannabe

Yooperwannabe Active Member

My new favorite is Middle Fork Forest Preserve Campground near Rantoul. The fishing is great and there area hiking trails. I have lots of photos on my webshots if you care to take a look.

3. erich0521

erich0521 New Member

Here are my favorites around the Mahomet/Champaign area. All within an hour's drive.
    1. Forest Glen Preserve (south of Danville)
    2. Bo Woods ACOE just south of Sullivan on Lake Shelbyville
    3. Weldon Springs SP (Clinton)

All would have shady sites, and fishing. Best fishing would be Lake Shelbyville. As amenities such as places to eat or be entertained: Sullivan has the Little Theatre on the Square, Clinton has Ted's Garage (nostalgic diner).

4. hvac1877

hvac1877 Old Dominion Iron Chefs Highland Springs, Va

5. riv1707

riv1707 New Member

Hey thanks everyone. I use to go to Lake Shelbyville as a kid, but had no clue where the nice campgrounds are. I'll have to check them all out since I desperately need a vacation. lol

6. Aladin Sane

Aladin Sane I'd rather be camping

Check out Starved Rock State Park. It is quite nice.

7. ErikRuud

ErikRuud New Member

Shabonna Lake State Park is good with great fishing.

Scott County Park in Iowa a little north of the Quad Cities is very nice, but no fishing.

8. hanson1522

hanson1522 Belleville, IL

Cole's Creek CG at Carlyle Lake is awesome. Matter of fact, a bunch of us are gonna be there this weekend if you wanna stop by!! We'll be in site 89. :)

9. daddy1022