Camping with WiFi

Discussion in 'Campsite Electronics' started by Jan Cristo, Jul 21, 2019.

1. Jan Cristo

Jan Cristo New Member

I'm totally in the dark right now! I have a smartphone from Consumer Cellular. When I'm camping I do not get the internet. Please tell me the easiest, cheapest way to be able to use my phone and my computer while camping. Do I need to change carriers? What else do I need to do? Any personal advice will be appreciated. Just keep it simple, I'm a beginner!

2. xxxapache

xxxapache Well-Known Member

I have unlimited data on my phone. I use it as a mobile hotspot for my tablet.

3. Jan Cristo

Jan Cristo New Member

So how? I don't understand. Do you mean that you can use your phone anywhere? What carrier do you use? What kind of phone do you have? I need a bit more information than you ave provided.

4. roybraddy

roybraddy Well-Known Member

Most of the time we get something using VERIZON... Seems to have the best coverage for us... I also have a VERIZON MIFI unit that does the same thing you can do with your cell phone... The MIFI unit is mounted up behind my valance curtains sitting in a WILSON Cradle and has outside antenna... This will become a secured hotspot and allow up to five devices to use it... Gives us a good couple of hundred feet hot spot coverage around our camp site...

We only use WIFI for checking in with the kids, paying a few bill maybe and some surfing of the web. Not enough GB for down streaming TV or movies... My BATWING antenna setup gets something to watch on TV just about where ever we go...

[​IMG]
    Roy's image

Roy Ken
    [​IMG]

5. Jan Cristo

Jan Cristo New Member