Can I tow a 1650Lbs Popup with No Brakes?

Discussion in 'First Time & New Camper Owners' started by JR71, Feb 9, 2021.

1. JR71

JR71 New Member

Hi All, i am a rookie about to buy a popup camper. The popup weighs 1650lbs dry weight and has no brakes. The gentleman who owns it now pulls it with his Kia Minivan and said hes had no problems. I will be pulling it with a 2016 Toyota Sienna Minivan also. We will be doing 3-4 trips to campgrounds within a two hour drive each year with no mountains, but we will be taking it to my inlaws cabin once a year also on the Cabot Trail in Nova Scotia and there is a mountain road we go up and down on to get there and back and that drive is more like 5-6 hours altogther.

So my question is do I need brakes or should i be ok if I take my time?

2. PopUpSteve

PopUpSteve Administrator

No brakes on the trailer or the tow vehicle? :grin:[LOL]

One thing you need to check are the laws in Nova Scotia. Some States/Provinces draw a line in the sand as to at what weight a trailer is required to have brakes.

Rik Peery and Sjm9911 like this.
  3. generok

generok Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

Check your applicable motor vehicle regulations. Some places have mandates over certain weights. If that's the case in your area, then the question answers itself. If you're not required to have brakes, it comes down to how well it tows and stops for your setup. Adding electric brakes takes a certain amount of parts sourcing and handiness (and needs a place to do the work). Of course, qualified RV technicians are more than willing to do the work in exchange for funds.

Of course the dry weight isn't what you will need to tow. Add propane, water, "stuff", food, and so on and you're likely to be more around 2,000 lbs down the road.

You could always tow it and see how you feel. If you feel like it doesn't stop in a manner that you're confident about, look into the brakes.

Sjm9911 likes this.
  4. rabird

rabird Howdy!